^!gM'itmeiJi:miMJx^n!miii^E.sjii'-',

Class Jni

Book -

/

i.^

GoBtiglitBi

A

J A

CORlRIGHT DEPOSm

^

ON THE

fl

«

-«!

o

m

D

1^;

THE OFFICIAL

GUIDE BOOK

TO

PHILADELPHIA.

A NEW

HANDBOOK POR STRAN&EES AND CITIZENS.

By THOMPSON WESTCOTT,

AUTHOR OF "a HISTORY OF PHILADELPHIA," "LIFE OF JOHN FITCH," ETC., ETC.

WITH A HISTORY OP THE CITY, A LARGE MAP OF THE CITY SHOWING ALL THE ROUTES OP THE PASSENGER RAILWAYS, NEW MAP OP FAIRMOUNT PARK, Eic^ .^

ILLUSTEATED WITH NEAELY ONE HUNDEED EN&EAVIUaS.

PHILADELPHIA: PORTER AND COATES,

822 CHESTNUT STREET.

1^1 n

I I

Entered according to Act of Congress, in the year 1875, oy

PORTER & COATES, In the Office of the Librarian of Congress, at Washington.

Westcott & Thomson,

Stereotypers -"td Electrotypers. Philada.

Henry B. Ashmead,

Pri7tter Phtlada

CHANGES, ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS.

DTTmNOthe Beriod in which the following pages have been passing

of pubuLttn'The following matters are to be noted m addition and

""""Ranks -Pa-e 156 The Commonwealtli National Bank has befn removed ft om the corner of Fourth and Chestnut streets to SW corner Tfrourth and Walnut streets, in the hue sandstone bmklmg formerly erected by the Enterprise I^^^^^ance Company -JheCen- f;:S.iaf National Lnk a -w in^t.tut^r,^^^^^^^^ ^^X /et^na:

roLT^xMbirrtriniifuL^^^^^^

tenSal ground, immediately west of the Main Exhibition Building, and wm transact the financial business of the Exposition

iPi^^«^ial —The Board of Brokers will, during the year, le- mo?e"f"rt\f MeJctnts' Exchange to a -w buM^g --tr-f^e^^ especially for its use, immediately west ot Girard Bank, inira street

^ Bridaes.-Page 337. The Market Street Bridge was destroyed by fire N?v 20, 1875, and has been replaced by a te^^PO^^^ry s ruc- ture strong enough to last for ten or twenty years It was rebuilt by Se Pennsylvanii Eailroad Company for the city, and finished m

'TiL::tl7A£^se^'^nZ-Tl.e Kiralfy Brothers have com- mencfd the fraction of a theatre and music-hall, to which a garden S to be attached on the east side of Broad street above Spruce, wMdi'^fs totecaile'd the Alliambra. The lot is l|Oieet front by 225 deep to a street on which the front is 170 feet. The style ot tue facade wVbe of the Moresque architecture, elaborately ornamented wfth columns, horseshoe arches, with domes etc., brilliantly painted in bright colors and gilded. The theatre will seat 1600 persons The gardel will be ornamented with fountains, etc. and wil be loO feet fauare The building is expected to be completed April 15, 18/ 6^- The Women's Centennial Music-Hall is to be built upon the irounds attached to the mansion of the late Edwin Forrest, tragedian I W corner of Broad and Master streets, and the performances are to be under the charge of the eminent musician Theodore Thomas The music-hall will be 100 feet front on Broad street and 200 feet deep and will be capable of accommodating 5000 persons The stage wm be of capacity sufficient for an orchestra of lOOperiormers and aThorus of 600 singers. The Forrest mansion, adjoming, will be fitted up as a restaurant and cafe. , , q. ..

Patriotic Orders.-A new hall has been fitted up at Sixth and Spring Garden streets for the Patriotic Order of Sons of America; objects, patriotism and benevolence. f^^ Wn

Hj^foi-niatorv Homes.— A Reformatory Home for Wo- men who aJe addicted to the vice of intemperance has been opened

CHANGES, ADDITIONS, ETC.

at 220 North Thirteenth street, under the auspices of the Women's Christian Temperance Union.

Educational Homes.— The home for boys (p. 222) has es- tablished a home for girls, and will hereafter be styled the Educa- tional Home. , , ^

Homes for the Aged.— The Union Home for old Ladies, at 3947 Market street, was opened for the reception of inmates Feb.

24 1876 The Edwin Forrest Home for retired actors will be

opened at Springbrook, near Holmesburg, during the year, under the trusts of Mr. Forrest's will.

Industrial Aid Societies.— The Day Nursery for Chil- dren, incorporated in 1873, has its home at 410 Blight street. Ihe children of poor women who are out at work in daytime are here cared for, educated. and fed daily.

Centennial Hotels.— Pages 69, 70. There have been pro- jected and are in course of construction Ruloff 's Elm Avenue Hotel, west end of Machinery Hall, with accommodations for 500 persons, and the Atlas Hotel, Fifty-second street and Elm avenue, which will have 1500 rooms and capacity for 3000 persons daily.— The name ot the hotel S W corner of Broad and Walnut streets, designated the Edwards (p. 67), has been settled to be hereafter St. George.— Grand Central Hotel (pp. 66, 67), Market street near Thirty- second, was projected but has not been built. .

Centennial Depot.- The Pennsylvania Railroad Company is building an extensive depot opposite the Exposition Buildings, (t will have four large apartments for reception and comfort pas- sengers, with extensive platforms, and every arrangement lor con- venience of trains arriving and departing. -n -n-

Food Supply.— The Abattoir, west side of SehuylkillKiyer above Market street, will be ready for use in 1876. The principal building is of brick, 150 by 200 feet. There are 48 cattle-sheds, each 24 by 200 feet; two sheep-pens, each 130 by 350 feet; a large hog- pen, and a large brick grain and hay barn.

Access to the Exhibition.— In addition to means ot con- veyance specified in Chapter IV., a new organization, the Exhibition Transfer Company, has established a considerable number light carriages which will run regularly from Ninth and Chestnut streets to the Exhibition grounds. ^, . m *

Special Ticket-Offices.— Page 89.— The Union Transfer Company, S. E. corner of Ninth and Chestnut streets, has a general ticket-office for all lines of railroads from Philadelphia.

ERRATA.

Page 39, line 4, " Chestnut street west of Ninth," should be CAris- ifia-w street west of Ninth. u i, w ^ r

Page 88 on 33d line, Westchester Railroad should be West Jersey.

Pase 201, line 2d, £45,815 should be £45 8s. U.

Pa^e 310 West Laurel Hill. This cemetery is not under the same conti^l as the Laurel Hill Cemetery, but a distinct corporation, having no connection whatever with it; nor can tickets tor it be procured at Brown's drug store, Fifth and Chestnut streets.

ALPHABETICAL LIST

PLACES, EXHIBITIONS, ETC, IN PHILADELPHIA,

LIKELY TO PROVE MOST ATTRACTIVE TO THE STRANGER OR TOURIST.

Those with an * no one should leave Philadelphia without seeing.

Places.

1* Academy of Fine Arts, Broad

above Arch st. ■>* Academy of Natural Sciences, S. W. corner of 19th and Race. American Philosophical Society,

5th St. below Chestnut. American Steamship wharves and

docks. International wharves

and dock. Arsexals.

* Arsenal, Frankford.

* Arsenal, Schuylkill, Gray's

Ferry road below Carpenter. Asylums.

* Blind Asylum, 20th and E,ace

sts. Christ Church Hospital for old wo- men, York and 49th sts. *Deaf and Dumb Asylum, cor- ner of Broad and Pine sts. Naval Asylum, Gray's Ferry

road. Orphan Asylum, Haddington. St. John's Orphan Asylum (Ro- man Catholic), Westminster avenue near 49th st. Widow's Asylum, Cherry near 18th St. Banks.

Bartram's House, west bank of the

Schuylkill below Gray's Ferry. Belmont, West Park. Bleckley Almshouse, West Phila- delphia.

Mode of Obtaining Admission.

Tickets 25 cents.

Open Tuesdays and Fridays in the afternoon. Admission 10 cents. Admission free.

Tickets to be had of Peter Wrigh! & Sons, Walnut st. above 3d.

Open to the public. Open to the public.

Concerts Wednesday p. m.

sion 15 cents. Admission on application.

Admis-

Tickets of managers or at Ledger

oflBice, 6th and Chestnut sts. Open to the public.

Admission on application. Open to the public.

Admission on application.

These institutions are always open during business hours to stran- gers who may desire to examine the interior architecture.

See page 329.

Open to the public. See page 330. Tickets free at office, 7th above Filbert.

VI

SIGHTS IN PHILADELPHIA.

Places.

Mode of Obtaining Admission.

Boys' Central High School, corner

Broad and Green sts.

Cemeteries.

-* Laurel Hill Cemetery, Ridge av. ,

Woodland Cemetery, Woodland

avenue, West Philadelphia. West Laurel Hill Cemetery, west bank of Schuylkill near Pencoyd station. Woodlands, west side of Schuyl- kill. Churches.—

* Cathedral of St. Peter and St.

Paul (R. C), 18th St. above

* Christ Church, finished in 1753,

2d St. above Market. *01d Pine Street Presbyterian

Church, cor. 4th and Pine sts. *01d Swedes' Church, Swanson

St. below Christian.

* St. Peter's Protestant Episcopal

Church, cor. Pine and 3d sts. Cliveden (Chew's house), German- town.

^^Base Ball Ground (Athletic), 25th and Jefferson sts.

Cricket Club Grounds (Ger- mantown), on Germautown branch Reading R. R., near Wayne st. (Merion), near Ardmore station.

Press, 505 Chestnut st.

Reform Club, 1520 Chestnut st.

■« Union League House, corner Sansom and Broad sts. Commercial Exchange, 2d below

Walnut St. -:v County Prison, 1 1th st. and Pas syunk avenue.

CO^URT-ROOMS.

Common Pleas No. 1, American Philosophical Hall, 5 th below Chestnut st.

Common Pleas No. 2, Old Con- gress Hall, 6th and Chestnut.

Open to the public.

Open to the public in daytime, ex- cept Sundays. Open to the public.

Open to the public.

Open to the public. See page 334.

Services daily between 6 and 7 A. M., and six services on Sunday.

Services on Sunday.

Services on Sunday.

Open on Sundays.

Services on Sundays.

See page 331.

Admission at advertised prices. Admission at advertised prices.

On introduction by a member. Admission on introduction by a

member-. Admission on introduction by a

member. Introduction by a member.

Tickets from Inspectors or at Led- ger oflBce, 6th and Chestnut sts.

Open to the public. Open to the public.

SIGHTS IN PHILADELPHIA.

VJl

Places.

Court-Rooms Continued.

Common Pleas No, 3, east wing of State-house, adjoining su- preme court-room. Common Pleas No. 4, west wing

of State-house. Orphans', 6th below Walnut. Quarter Sessions, Congress Hall and in building to the south. Supreme, east wing of Inde- pendence Hall. United States, Library st. near 5th. Custom-House (U. S.), Chestnut st.

below 5th. Declaration of Independence, house where written, 7th and Market sts. Fair Hill, Germantown avenue. *Fairmount Park. Franklin Institute, 7th st. above

Chestnut. *Frank]in's Grave, S. E. cor, 5th

and Arch sts. Germantown Battle-ground. *Girard College, Ridge avenue

above 19th st. Girls' Normal School, Spring Gar- den and 17th sts. Halls.

* Carpenters' Hall, built in 1770,

Chesfnut st. below 4th. *City, New, Hall (unfinished), Broad and Market sts. Horticultural Hall, Broad st. below Locust.

* Independence Hall, Chestnut st.

below 6th. National Museum, west room

State house building, Chest- nut below 6th. St. George's Hall, corner 13th

and Arch sts. Homes.

Northern Home and Soldiers'

Orphan Home, 23d and

Brown sts. Old Men's Home, 39th and Pow-

elton avenue.

Mode of Obtaining Admission.

Open to the public.

Open to the public.

Open to the public. Open to the public.

Open to the public.

Open to the public.

Open to the public in daytime.

See page 324.

See page 336.

Open to the public at all times.

Admission free.

Can be seen from the pavement on Arch St. near the corner.

See page 317.

Tickets at office of the trustees, 5th above Chestnut, or at Ledger office.

Open to the public.

Admission free. Open to public in

daytime. Open to the public.

Open during exhibitions, meetings or lectures, with prices specified.

Open day and evening to the pub- lic.

Open to the public.

Open at meetings of St. George Society and on public occasions.

Open to the public. Services on Sunday.

Vlll

SIGHTS IN PHILADELPHIA.

Places.

Mode of Obtaining Admission,

Hospitals.

German Hospital, Girard and Corinthian avs.

* Insane Hospital (Kirkbride's),

Haverford av., West Phila- delphia. Take Market street

Naval Hospital (U. S.), on Na- val Asylum grounds.

* Pennsylvania Hospital, 8th and

Spruce sts. Presbyterian Hospital, 39th and

Filbert sts. Protestant Episcopal Hospital, Lehigh avenue and Front st. St. Joseph's Hospital (Roman Catholic), Girard avenue and 17th St. Wills Hospital for Eye diseases. Race St.. bet. 18th and 19th. Women's Hospital, N. College av. and 22d st. House of Correction, neiir Holmes burg.

House of Refuge, 2.3d and Parrish sts.

Admission on application.

Ledger Building, S. W. cor. 6th

and Chestnut sts. Lemon Hill.

LI3RARIES.

Apprentices' Library, b. W. cor.

5th and Arch sts. Athenseum Library, 6th st. be

low Walnut. Mercantile Library, 10th st.

above Chestnut. Pennsylvania Historical, 8^0 Spruce St. ^ , .

* Philadelphia Library, 5th st. below Chestnut. Ridgway Library (unfinished). Broad and Christian sts. Markets.

Central, Market st. between Ibth

and 17th. Delaware Avenue, Delaware av. and Spruce st.

Friends of patients admitted. Open to the public. Open to the public. Open to the public. Open to the public.

Open to the public. Admission on application.

Open Mondays, Wednesdays, and

Fridays from 10 to 2. Tickets

at 51 N. 6th St. Open Mondays, Wednesdays, and

Fridays from 10 to 2. Tickets

at 21 N. 7th St. Open to the public.

See page 333.

Admission free to visitors.

Free on introduction by a member.

Open to visitors for inspection in

daytime. Open to visitors from 10 a. m- to

10 P.M.

Open to visitors from 9 A. M. to 5 P. M.

Open to the public. Open to the public.

SIGHTS IN PHILADELPHIA.

IX

Places.

Mode of Obtaining Admission.

Markets Continued.

Eastern, S. E. comer 5th and

Merchant sts. Farmers' and Franklin, N. side of Market st. between 11th and 12th. Ridge Avenue, on Ridge av. * Masonic Temple, Broad st. below Arch.

Medical Colleges.

College of Physicians and Sur- geons, cor. 13th and Locust. Jeiferson Medical College, 10th

St. below Sansom. University Medical College, cor- ner Locust and 34th sts. Woman's Medical College, N. College av. and 22d st. Merchants' Exchange, Dock and

3d sts. Mint, Old, 7th st. above Filbert. *Mint (U. S.), Chestnut st. above

13th. Morgue, Noble st. near Delaware

avenue. Mount Pleasant, East Park.

* National Museum, Independence

Hall. Navy Yard, League Island, mouth

of the Schuylkill River. Old London Coffee-house, Front

and Market sts.

* Penitentiary, Fairmount avenue

and 21st st.

Penn's Cottage, Letitia st. near Market.

Penn Treaty Monument, Beach and Hanover sts.

Post-office (U. S.), Chestnut st. be- tween 4th and 5th.

Red Bank.

School of Design for Women, S.W. corner Broad and Filbert sts.

Solitude, Zoological Gardens, West Park.

Stenton (Logan's House), German- town road.

Open to the public. Open to the public.

Open to the public.

On Thursdays from 10 to 2. Tick- ets, or introduction by members of the order.

Tickets of admission to be procured

from members. Tickets from Faculty or Trustees.

Tickets from Faculty or Trustee?.

Tickets from Faculty or Trustees.

Open to the public.

See page 326.

Open to visitors from 9 A. ii. to 12

noon. Open to the public.

See page 332.

Open to the public from 9 A. M. to

3 p. M. Open to the public in daytime.

See page 326.

Tickets of inspectors or at Ledger

office. ^ =, ^ , i'_

See page 32L .^"^^^ ^^ ^ ^^

May be seen from the street.

Outer avenues open to the public.

See page 319.

Open to visitors in daytime.

See page 333.

See page 330.

SIGHTS IN PHILADELPHIA.

Places.

Mode of Obtaining Admission.

Trotting, Racing, and Driving Parks. Belmont, beyond West Park. Point Breeze, Point Breeze near

Penrose Ferry bridge. Suffolk, Island road near Read- ing branch of old Baltimore R. R. Trust and Safe Deposit Companies.

University of Pennsylvania, 36th

and Woodland av. Wagner Free Institute, corner 17th

and Montgomery avenue. Water-works.

Belmont or West Philadelphia, Fairmount Park, west side of Schuylkill River, near Read- ing Railroad Bridge. Delaware or Kensington, east side of Delaware River, near Gunners' Run. Fairmount, in Park, east side of Schuylkill River, north of Morris st. Roxborough, east side Schuyl- kill River, above Manayunk. Schuylkill (formerly Spring Garden), east side of Schuyl- kill River, Fairmount Park, near Girard avenue. Wilson School-house, Darby road

and Leach Hollow. Young Men's Christian Associa- tion, Chestnut st. above 12th. New building being erected S. E. cor. 15th and Chestnut sts. *- Zoological Gardens, Fairmount Park.

Admission on introduction of > members, or on public race days at advertised rates.

Open to visitors during business

hours. Visitors admitted on application.

Free to visitors.

Each of these is open to the public.

See page 328. Open to the public.

Admission 25 cents.

PLACES OF AMUSEMENT.

XI

Places.

Theatres,

Walnut Street, 9th and Walnut. Arch Street, Arch st, west of 6th. Chestnut Street, Chestnut st.

above 12th. Wood's Museum, 9 th and Arch. American, Chestnut between 10th

and 11th sts. Grand Central, Walnut ab. 8th. Amateur Drawing-room, 17th

above Chestnut. New National Varieties, 10th and

Callowhill sts. Concordia (Ger.), 417 Callowhill. Alhambra, Broad above Spruce. Minstrel Halls.

Arch Street Opera-house, Arch

St. between 10th and 11th. Eleventh Street Opera-house, 11th St. above Chestnut. Opera and Music.

Academy of Music, corner Broad

and Locust.

Musical Fund Hall, Locust ab 8th.

. Centennial Music Hall ( Thomas),

Forrest Mansion, Broad and

Master.

Handel and Haydn Hall, corner

8th and Spring Garden. Concert Hall, Chestnut, between

12th and 13th. Mannerchor Hall, Fairmount av. and Franklin st. AuT Exhibitions.

Academy of Fine Arts, Broad

above Arch. Art Gallery, East Fairmount

Park, near Green st. Art Galleries, Private. Colosseum, Broad and Locust. Miscellaneous Exhibitions. Assembly Building, corner 10th

and Chestnut. Horticultural Hall, east side of Broad st. above Spruce. Scientific Exhibitions.

Academy of Natural Sciences,

corner 19th and Bace. Zoological Gardens, West Park below Girard av.

Mode of Obtaining Admission.

Family circle. Dress circle. Orchestra. 25 cents. 50 cents. $1.50 25 " 50 " 1.00

50 " 75 " 1.50

25

25

25

a

50 50

50

1.00 .75

.75

25 cents. 50 cents. 75 cents. 25 " 50 '* 75 «

Admission at advertised prices.

Admission at advertised prices. Admission at advertised prices.

Admission at advertised prices. Admission at advertised prices. Admission at advertised prices.

Admission 25 cents.

Open to the public.

See page 196.

Admission at advertised prices.

Admission at advertised prices.

Admission at advertised prices.

Open Tuesday and Friday after- noons. Admission 25 cents.

Admission 25 cents. Children un- der twelve years 10 cents.

xu

COINS.

VALXJB OF FOREIGN GOLD AND SILVER COINS IN THE VALUli. ^^^^^^Y OF THE UNITED STATES. Prepared by the Superintendent of the United States Mint, Philadelphia.

GOLD COINS.

Country.

Austria

Do

Do

Do

Belgium

Brazil

Central America

Do

Chili

Colombia and South

America generally

Colombia..

Do

Denomination.

Fourfold ducat.

Souverain (no longer coined).

4 florins (new)

Ducat

25 francs

29 railreis

2 escudos

4 reals

10 pesos (dollars)

Value in United! States money.

Dolls, cts. mills.

Old doubloon*

20 pesos, "Bogota"...

^^ 20 pesos, "Medellin "

po *.".'..].".... I 20 pesos, "I'opayan"

Costa Rica Denmark

Do

Egypt

England

France

German Empire

Do

Greece

India (British)..

Italy ....•

Japan

Mexico

Do

Do

Netherland

New Granada..,

Norway

Peru

Portugal

Russia 5 rubles...

Spain 100 reales

Po 1 80 reals

Do!!'.'.'.

Sweden .

Do....

Do.... Tunis... Turkey

10 pesos.

20 Crown

Old ten-thaler

Bedidlik (100 piasters)

Pound or sovereign (new) .

20-franc

New 20 marks

Old ten-thaler (Prussian)..

20 drachms

Mohur, or 15 rupees f

20 lire

20 yen

Doubloon

20 pesos (empire)

20 pesos (republic, new)....

10 gilders

10 pesos (dollars)

20 crowns

20 soles

Coroa (crown)

10 escudos

Ducat

Carolin (10 francs)

New 20 Crowns (krone).

25 piasters

100 piasters

1 4

5 9

4 72 0 10 89 3

9 13

fi 75

1 93

2 27

3 68 0 48 9 11

15

59 2

18

94 0

19

05 5

18

96 2

8

44 7

5

35 8

7

89 8

4

97 3

4

86 5

3

84 5

4

76 3

7

97 0

3

44 2

7

10 3

3

84 5

19

94 2

15

60 0

19

64 2

19

56 1

3

99 3

9

67 4

5

35 8

19

23 7

5

80 5

3

97 5

4

96 3

3

86 2

5

01 4

2

23 6

1

93 4

5

35 8

2

99 5

4 36 8

* The douMoon (doblon, or more, properly ^.^^^tln^Ts^PPnt e?f^ThesTfl- ^nnnish^ is now generally discontinued, and is seldom seen here, -'■"ese n^ u?es answer as wlllforth^e doubloon of Peru, Chili, Bolivia, etc., and therefore this item stands for all. .

^0x1 -fnThL^e'table^S il Taken aflhe basis of U. S. money. In calcu- latlJ^ke\aluetn US currency add from 10 per cent, to 15 per cent., accord- ing to the daily reports of the money market.

COINS.

Xlll

SILVER COINS.

Country.

Austria...

Do

Do

Do

Do

Do

Belgium.

Do

Bolivia...,

Brazil

I Canada...

Do

Denomination.

Old rix-dollar

Old Scudo crown

Florin, before 1858

New florin ,

New Union dollar ,

Maria Theresa dollar, 1780.

0 francs

2 francs

New dollar

Double milreis

20 cents

25 cents

Central America < Dollar.

Chili

Do

China

Do

Denmark

Egypt

England

Do

Do

France

Do

North German States.

Do

South German States.

German Empire

Greece

Hindostan

Italy

Do

Japan

Do

Mexico

Do

Do

Netherlands

Norway

New Granada

Peru

Do

Do

Do

Portugal

Roumania

Russia

Spain

Do

Sweden

Switzerland

Tunis

Turkey

Old dollar

New dollar

Dollar (English mint).

lOcents

2 rigsdaler

Piaster (new)

Shilling (new)

Siiilling (average)

Florin

5 franc

2 franc

Thaler, before 1857

Thaler (new)

Florin

5 marks (new)

5 drachms

Rupee

5 lire

Lira

1 yen

50 sen

Dollar

Half dollar

Pesto of Maximilian....

21^ gilders ,

Specie daler

Dollar of 1857

Olddolhir

Dollar of 1858

Half dollar of 1835-'38.

Sol

500 reis

2 lei (francs), new

Ruble

5 pesetas (dollars)

Peseta (pistareen

Riksdaler

2 francs

5 piasters

20 piasters

Value in United States money.

Dolls. 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

1

0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

1

0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

cis. mills.

95 95 47 45 68 95 91 38 91 95 17

93 99 91

09 03 03 21 20 42 91

22 0

99 1

33 9

67 8

68 0

38

9

91

9

82

2

43

4

91

7

16

9

99

1

40

8

99

8

49

6

98

7

96

4

03

2

91

1

99

0

87

5

35

7

91

6

46

3

34

1

74

1

91

4

)6

9

26

0

33

9

58

3

81

1

XIV

POSTAGE TO FOREIGN COUNTRIES.

POSTAGE TO FOREIGN COUNTRIES.

17

*27

*5

10

*21

*27

5

*5 *5 *5

10 *5 15 *15 10 *5

5 5 *5 *5 10 13 5 13

Argentine Confederatiou

Aspinwall

Austria :

Australia, via San Francisco

do. via England

do. via Brindisi

Belgium... •••••

Bermuda, via New York 15

Brazil, direct •-:;""*:.""""J*i"'''^"ot^' 3

Canada, Nova Scotia, Newtoundland, etc j ^^^

Cape of Good Hope ..."

Chili, Bolivia, Ecuador and Peru

China, via Southampton

Denmark, via England

East Indies, via San Francisco....

do. via England

do. via Brindisi

German states, via North German Union

Great Britain and Ireland... "■ "

ionrKo^Vcar;tonrSwai^wr^i^:r;"a^Fo^ho^^

San Francisco ° "

Italy, via England..... "

Japan, via San Francisco .■.'.'.'.".'.'.'.' .7. '.'.'..!

Liberia

Mexico ••

Norway and Sweden

Portugal, via Southampton

Russia, via England 7..

Shanghai, via San Francisco ;... .".'.'."!!!'.!

Spain

Switzerland .•"V;'"',"'"^

Turkev, Syria, etc., via England.

Venezuela by American Packet

Venezuela, by British Packet

West^.dies, ^^^;-,,^^^r^^^ __

-^,^;;-,:^^^;^^^{^:^e. that the postage may be paid or not, at the option ^V^Se'fwsVapS postage to Canada is the same as that to any part of the United States.

POSTAL CaKDS to I'^OREIGN COUNTRIES.

.stal cards may be sent for _^nad<UHonal one-cent st^mp to^«>,e

2 2 3

t 4 4 4 2 2 4 8 2 2 2 2

2

2

4

4

3

2

2

2

2

2

2

2

3

4

2

4

?/„7,:.reSl-V.lris°^X?Serra c\??:1o be delivered elsewhere in ""loS'caSs tolnyp-t of the United States, 1 cent eaeh.

FOREIGN CONSULS AT PHILADELPHIA. XV

FOREIGN CONSULS AT PHILADELPHIA.

COXINTRY.

Name.

Address.

Argentine Republic

Austria

Belgium

Brazil

Chili

ColomViia, U. S. of

Denmark

Ecuador

France

German Empire

Great Britain

Hungary

Italy ...*.

Liberia

Netherlands

Nicaragua

Orange FreeState^South

Africa

Portugal

Russia

Spain

Sweden and Norway ... Switzerland

Uruguay..

Venezuela

Edward Shippen

Lars Westergaard

G. E. Saurman

Edward S. Sayres

Edward Shippen

Leon de la Cova

F.Myhlertz

Edward Shippen

Celestin Auguste Ravin d'ElpeiTX, vice-consul...

Charles H. Meyer

Chas. Edward Kortright. Geo. Crump, vice-consul..

Lars Westergaard

Alonzo M.Viti

Edward S. Morris

Lars Westergaard

Henry C. Potter

Henry W. Riley

Edward S. Sayres

Henry Preaut.vice-consul

Don Juan Morphy

Don Julian Alfredo Prin- cipe y Sartoris (V. C).

Lars Westergaard

Rudolph Koradi

Werner Itschaner (V. C.) Chas.W. Matthews (V.C.) Leon de la Cova

5,32 Walnut St. 138 S. 2d St. 1228 Chestnut St. 268 S. 3d St. 532 Walnut St. 218+ Walnut St. 730 N. 2()th St. 532 Walnut St. 8th Street above

South

227 Chestnut St. 619 Walnut St.

138 S. 2d St. 115 Walnut St. 129 S. Front St. 138 S. 2d St. 260 S. 9th St.

602 Arch St. 268 S. 3d St. 500 S. Del. Av. 524 Walnut St.

138 S. 2d St. 314 York Avenue. 814 Vine St. 133 Walnut St. 2181 Walnut St.

XVI

EXCURSIONS FROM PHILADELPHIA.

o

m O

M

m P3 P O ><5

OQ 02

03 g c ;s: ^ ,a -r '^

O! _( 05

ts 5 P =3

ot. f>

to 9

02 .2

a;

P

\^%

.2 "^ .2

^- CO

=e^

=y

g

-^ s

13 !r

^ t: .2

CS 5 S-.

-^ fa 2

te:^ a

w ^^

Sg<M5?m

S rS *-

o wS "^

cc CO

•CC

M

5i ■=^

P5

P ^

P5

"a g

O

c .

1 a p

? p

ml

p:5

■gp^ £pd ^ ce

CO ._

p p p

^ cS eS oj >

P =i3

OJ

PM P

I a

^asa

M ci a 55

0) dJ ^ 'i~i

P j3 "^

3 - = S t P

p^

p

s

o al >. a

P -t^ <B P 3^ Cv tC 05

PM^ i^

p^

CO

P5p^

f^p5^ ^ Ph

Sis i: fl5i^

05 -*^ ij-

P5 O ^ S

o '-S

■^l^f^P^'

P>> F^ ® ^ P -S to CO r-5 J -J- P

g g s -^ I 5

PL, P-i ^ P^ P5 M2

p^

-fep:^ p

p5 §=^

£ -^ p ^

1-5 -2 .S 2 "^ -^ § is '2 ^ tn « ^ S-, r-

05 « 05 O J3 ^^P^^PlH

P5

t- p -^ o -r 05

a5«2 p

•" 05 ^ P

CO ai 05 05

p:?P^

ci ccS f^

CO C/5

05 05 COCO

. 05 TJ P 05

Ph P S

p

t/i O .^

hS

p^ =?

VJ t^ <jj .^ ,^-r j/j

cu tc OJ fa ^ J3 be

5-3 5 -ts ^ -2 .2 05 "ti o 2 c3 V i:

..- =5 .-- ^ 05 !^ CU

pLj p:| Ph CC OQ CO CO_

t3

>-.»H P

+J f^ 0) _^ -

••« ^ > &> « '^ 05 c3 CO S

03 .2 o H-i -r; X! p -ti S jp S ^

C =3 ^ c3 ^ ±i *3 C3 05 05 05

<; O PQ CQ pil pa

o a S

P.-H

o p^

p^

spp-s Sv;75'siJ^ §.i-s 5

fcJO P500

J a

P4

m 'So"

o Pm

P5

-w en

p:iPh

CO O 05

" a p p ,

5j^ c3 ^ ,

^ Q a t- rh :r: bi3 P m CT^ o '^^ -fh Q CO

=^ peI^I^s-^

p

s

o

cr'

-!->

rt

P

05 U

P

o

s

>

05

o

53

PhP4!z5

'05«'^ -fh 05 05 »■

9 ^i

bC

°^05«05 a5.:SFS o^iis^^^i^;?^

S -H .tJ

d rC^ C3 S

Q^ O iT^ > fc»

CO CC f> l> !-'

1^- 05 <^ O "+ "^

CO "O 05 t- '^ ''^

C; r-l t:(* CD OO 1— I

iOiOOC»C<»CCOCOCO'*p

CO Oi t~-

<M CS> ?^

(M 1—1

.€WPjrJrC;J2 «>JPr WMtJE^

^ jl/UbM£L, SPadtet Si ^ctjcjdek,

^ kajie ejcajTurLed and o/zlztaLLe t/m ^^^^j^uicLa J^aakta SPIuladeL'- jfihla/* % 3kamjzkari fWektcoit, §h.q.,, and /utLdL&ked liij. tj.au. yt la. a tkatauQk, cam- /ilete^ and lutacticaL ^ulde :^aak ta aii± ^Itif, yam,

flf^etL^ leAfzectfuUi^f

Jl/Lxupz af SPkiLad^Lffua.

PREFACE.

Philadelphia occupies such an extensive area of ground that it has advantages in space superior to any other city in the world. The number of buildings, public and private, is greater than in any other city in America, and is only ex- ceeded by some in Europe, in which the populations are more dense. For this reason public edifices and private mansions are spread over a wide expanse of territory. The stranger needs a guide which shall signify to him the best places to visit among the many which surround him, and the most con- venient ways of getting to them. This work has been ar- ranged to facilitate the visitor in his inquiries, to point out to him the most notable places, and to furnish information as fully as the space that can be devoted to each subject in a book intended to be portable will permit. It is believed that this hand-book will enable the stranger to spend his leisure in the city with the best advantage and with judicious em- ployment of time.

The publishers desire in this place to give credit to Messrs. John Sartain and James M. Earle for the authorship of those portions of Chapter XIII. which are devoted to the Academy of Fine Arts and to private art galleries. To General John Eaton, Commissioner of U. S. Bureau of Education, Wash- ington, D. C, thanks are due for the use of the cut of the Eidgway Library.

Philadelphia, Dec. 1, 1875.

CONTENTS.

PAGE

Sketch of the History of Philadelphia ... 13

CHAPTEE I. Inteoductory 43

Description Street Numbers Population Health Vital Statistics City Government Food Supply Water Supply Fairmount Water-Works Other Water- Works Public Drink- ing Fountains Drainage Fire Department Police Magis- trates' Courts Gas-Lighting Gas-Works.

CHAPTER II. Hotels, Boaeding- and Lodging-Houses ^Eestau-

rants 63

CHAPTER III. Maekets . 71

CHAPTER IV. City Teavel Feeeies Riyee Steamboats ... 75

Passenger Railway Companies Ferries to New Jersey— River Steamboat Lines Carriages and Hacks Express Companies Telegraph Companies Baggage Special Railroad Ticket Of- fices— Railroad Passenger Depots Railroads.

CHAPTER V. Public Buildings in Use by the City 95

Independence Square Independence Hall The National Museum— Old Congress Hall— Court-House Building— City Hall Philosophical Hall Quarter-Sessions Court Building New City Hall Prisons Eastern Penitentiary Moyamensing Prison House of Refuge House of Correction The Morgue Alms- house—Lazaretto— Public Schools— High School— Girls' Normal Schools Grammar Schools.

1* r.

CONTENTS. CHAPTER VI.

PAGE

128

TJ. S. Government Buildings and Offices . .

* Custom House-Sub -Treasury-Appraisers' Building-Post- Office-U. S. Courts-New Post-Office-Mint-Arsenals-Navy Yard— Naval Asylum— Naval Hospital.

CHAPTER VII.

141

Commerce and Manufactuees ^^^

Commerce-Commercial Exchange-Merchants' Exchange- Trade Exchange -Warehousing Companies - Bonded W are- houses-Commercial Dep6ts-Elevators-Steamsh:p Wharves and Docks— Manufactures.

CHAPTER VIII.

. 153 Financial Institutions

Banks-Saving Funds-Trust Companies-Safe Deposit and Trust Companies— Insurance Companies.

CHAPTER IX. Institutions of Education ^"^

University of Pennsylvania-Girard College-Germantown Academy- Aimwell School— Beck School-House.

CHAPTER X. Collegiate and Academical Institutions under

Religious Denominations I7d

Protestant Episcopal Academy-Protestant Episcopal Divmity School-Theological Seminary of Saint Charles Borromeo- Haverford College— Swarthmore College.

CHAPTER XI.

Institutions for Scientific Education 175

Medical Colleges-Dental Colleges-Polytechnic College.

CHAPTER XII.

183 Scientific Institutions

Academy of Natural Sciences-Entomological Society-Wag- ner Institute-American Philosophical Society-Franklm Insti- tute-Zoological Garden-Horticultural Society-Society for Promotion of Agriculture.

CONTENTS. 7

CHAPTEE XIII.

PAGE

Painting, Sculptuee, Music 191

Academy of Fine Arts— Private Art Galleries— Sketch-Club School of Design Fairmount Park Art Association Musical Fund Society Handel and Haydn Society.

CHAPTEE Xiy.

LiBEARY Companies and Associations 199

Philadelphia Library Eidgway Library Mercantile Library Athenseum Library Apprentices' Library Friends' Library Other Libraries.

CHAPTEE XV. Hospitals and Dispensaries 207

Pennsylvania Hospital— Pennsylvania Hospital for the Insane —Philadelphia Hospital— Wills Eye Hospital— Friends' Asy- lum for the Insane Preston Eetreat Municipal Hospital— St. Joseph's Hospital Charity Hospital Protestant Episcopal Hospital German Hospital— St. Mary's Hospitiil Jewish Hos- pital-Orthopaedic Hospital Presbyterian Hospital— German- town Hospital Homoeopathic Hospital— Hospital of the Uni- versity of Pennsylvania Woman's Hospital Dispensaries.

CHAPTEE XVI. Asylums and Homes 221

Asylums for Children ^Homes for the Aged— Asylums for the Unfortunate Asylum for the Deaf and Dumb Institutions for the Blind Eeformatory Homes.

CHAPTEE XVn. Belief Societies 231

German Society Society of Sons of St, George Other Na- tional Societies Soup Societies Industrial Aid Societies Fuel Associations ^Assistance Societies Humane Associations.

CHAPTEE XVIII.

Charitable Ordebs and Associations 237

Masonic Temple and Hall— Odd Fellows' Halls— Order of United American Mechanics Independent Order of Eed Men- American Protestant Association Other Orders.

g CONTENTS.

CHAPTER XIX.

243

^™m1;y of the Fi^st Tr^op of'philadelpMa ^ty Cavalry- Nat onal^Guards' Armory-City ^--y-^^^g,,;'^^'^''"^ Corps Washington Grays-Armory of Keystone Battery.

OHAPTEE XX.

247

Club— Penn Club— Saturday Club.

CHAPTER XXI.

. . 251

Gymnastics.

CHAPTER XXII.

. . 257

CHAPTER XXIII.

261

Chtteches

man)-Beformed (Dutch)-Eoman Catholic.

CHAPTER XXIV.

Associations fob Religious Objects 299

Hall of the Young Men's Christian Association-Presbyterian

i^^rLfPuS^^

?St:™ote-Other Publication Societies and Tract Soc.

eties-Clergymen's Annuity and Aid Funds.

CONTENTS. 9

CHAPTEE XXV.

PAGE

Cemeteries . 303

Eonaldson's Cemetery— Laurel Hill— West Laurel Hill— Mon- ument Cemetery Mount Vernon Glen wood Woodlands- Mount Moriah— Old Oaks— Odd Fellows'— Mechanics'— Mount Peace— Greenwood Cedar Hill Leverington—Fairhill— Ca- thedral—New Cathedral— Mount Sinai— Beth-El-Emeth.

CHAPTER XXVI.

Places of Historical Interest 315

The Treaty-Ground— Germantown Battle-Ground— Eed Bank Battle-Ground— Fort Mifflin.

CHAPTEE XXVII.

Buildings of a Public Character of Historic

Note 32i

Penn Mansion, Letitia Court Carpenters' Hall House where the Declaration of Independence was Written— The Old Mint— Old London Coffee-House— Free Quaker Meeting-House Wilson School-House.

CHAPTEE XXVIII. Historical Mansions . 329

Bartram's House Stentou Belmont Cliveden —Mount Pleasant— Lemon Hill— Solitude— Woodlands— Fairhill.

CHAPTEE XXIX. Bridges ^ ^ 337-

CHAPTEE XXX.

Public Parks and Squares 345

Fairmount Park— The Wissahickon— Hunting Park— Public Squares.

CHAPTEE XXXI. The International Exhibition of 1876 . . . .373

CHAPTEE XXXII. Six Days in Philadelphia 39I

ILLUSTEATIONS.

PAQB

wir.iAM PEAK'S H0«SB IN L^tia Stbbet, peh^^t ^^^ Appearance ••• •'" 40

Ofeicial Seai. of the City of Phii.adei.phia............. 4^

HORSEBADISH MAN " gg

Independence Hall gg

The State-house in 1776 ^^^

The Old Liberty Bell ^^^^

Interior of Independence Hall

Court-yard of the New Public Buildings i^ -

Entrance to the Eastern Penitentiary ^^^

MOYAMENSING PRISON ^__

Bird's-eye View of the House of Correction li'^

Central High-school ^26-

United States Custom-house ^^^^

United States Mint ^^^

Court-yard, United States Mint •••••• ^^^^

League Island ^^^

Commercial Exchange ^^^

Merchants' Exchange ^^^

GiRARD Point Elevator ^^^^

University of Pennsylvania •■•• ^^^

GiRARD College yj^

Protestant Episcopal Academy l"^;"*" vt'

MEDICAL DEPARTMENT OF THE UNIVERSITY ^^^^^^^^- ^^^ VANIA 283

Academy of Natural Sciences ^^^

Plan of the Zoological Gardens •••• ^^^

Carnivora-housb, Zoological Gardens

10

ILLUSTRATIONS. H

PAGE

Monkey-house 288

Bear-pits j^gp

Academy of Fine Arts 191

Philadelphia Library 200

EiDGWAY Library 201 -\

Mercantile Library 202

Apprentices' Library 204

Pennsylvania Hospital 208 ^

Episcopal Hospital (Bird's-eye View) 213-

Episcopal Hospital (Front View) 214-(

Hospital oe the University of Pennsylvania 217

St. George's Hall 233~

Masonic Temple 239-

Union League House 248

First Baptist Church 262

Fifth Baptist Church 263

Tabernacle Church 264

Church of the Holy Communion 269

Old Pine Street Church 274

Second Presbyterian Church (with Steeple com-

pi^eted) 275-

Bethany Church and Sunday-school 278

North Broad Street Church 279-

Christ Church 282

Grave of Franklin 283

Old Swedes' Church (Gloria Dei) 286

The Burd Monument in St. Stephen's Church 288

Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul 295^

Church of the Eestoration 298

Young Men's Christian Association Building 299 -j

The Schuylkill, from Laurel Hill 307-

The Schuylkill, from West Laurel Hill 309-

The Treaty Monument 31g

Carpenters' Hall 323

Wilson School-house 328

Bartram's House 329

Chew House, Germantown 332 j

Solitude 33^

12 ILLUSTRATIONS.

PA-GK

339-

GiRABD Avenue Bridge •• •••••"

Bridge oyer the Sckhyekiee at Chestnut Street.... 341

Fountain near Mineral Spring, Lemon Hiei. ^^^

East Terrace, Lemon Hill ^^^

Schuylkill Bluffs, below Edgely ^^^

Entrance at Egglesfield ^^^

Connecting Bridge, Fairmount Park ^ ••-•

FAIRMOUNT PARK FROM THE LaNSDOWNE ENTRANCE 353

View of Sweet-brier from Egglesfield •• ^^^

View above Sweet-brier ^^^^

View from Belmont g^g

Monster Pines, West Park •■•••••• ^

EAViNE IN Western Park, Sweet-brier Vale ^^^

On the Wissahickon Drive ^^^^

A Glimpse of the Wissahickon •••••••••• ^^^

The Hermit's Pool ^^^

Hemlock Glen, on the Wissahickon ^^^

The Wissahickon at Chestnut Hill ^^^^

The Drive, Wissahickon ^^^

Glen Fern, Wissahickon V:' mt" Airy ". 367

Bridge over the Wissahickon near Mt. Airy

Drinking Fountain on the Wissahickon .^..^.^..

Bird's-eye View of the Centennial Buildings. 37.

m'n building. International exhibition 376^

Memorial Hall— Art Gallery ••••••• ^^^

Machinery Hall 3g4

Agricultural Hall ggy

Horticultural Hall r""w™TioN '''. 389-

WoMEN's Building, International Exhibition

v3 / 1 - '

A SKETCH

HISTORY OF PHILADELPHIA.

rpHE first European who trod the soil which now belongs to -■- the city of Philadelphia was probably a certain Captain Hendrickson, who commanded one of the five vessels fitted out by the Dutch East India Company in the year 1623, of which little fleet Captain Cornells Jacobsen Mey was commodore. Before that time, as early as the year 1609, Henry Hudson, an Englishman in the service of the Dutch East India Company, in the yacht Half-Moon, discovered a large river which flowed into a great bay opening into the Atlantic Ocean and north of the Chesapeake Bay. Into this newly-discovered bay he en- tered and penetrated a short distance ; but coming out of it, sailing north-east and keeping near the coast, he discovered another great bay into which a large river emptied. From this circumstance he gave to the river first discovered by him the name of the South Eiver, and to the other the name of the North Eiver. In the year 1610 a ship, which carried the Lord Thomas de la War on his voyage to Virginia, entered the South Bay and discovered the river flowing into it, and then went on to Virginia. Under these two discoveries arose the conflicting claims of two nations. The Dutch claimed the North and South Elvers and the intervening territories. The English claimed the territory adjoining the South Eiver, which they called the Delaware. Captain Mey found two prominent capes at the mouth of the South Bay, which he 2 n

24 HISTOKY.

named after himself. One tears Us name to this day^ The 1 oo n-ariP TTpnloDen, was named Oape ^oi

other, now ^^^^^^^^TrZi^ei at Manhattan, now N^^orf Xr m" wtt to Enrope; and obtaining com-

•1 But there were difficulties in maintaining tlie settle onies. i^iit tnere wexe Nassau was garrisoned and

n.ents which were made -!« ^~ ^^,, ,„^ewhere Fort Beversrede erected on the >'CMy ^

north of the f ^/ *'^\rr« XfhVad been chax- 1638 a Swedish West India Company w ^^^^^ ^^^

of the present city of Ij^"*"^' j^ ^^^ D„tch nor the

ered the iirst permanent t^^'^^^X^.^tteir expeditions,

several '^tt«'"P^_,^rswrdish government sent ont governors nent success The^ Swedish g ^^^^^^^ ^^.^^^^^

for the colonies. Foits J^'f « ^he Dutch at Nassau,

:;r;nrCnrof1"eam, frecnently quarrelled

HISTORY. 15

with their neighbors, and finally, to make their authority- more certain, they resolved to abandon Fort Nassau on the east bank of the river, and in the year 1651 built Fort Casi- mer near the present site of the town of New Castle. The Swedes were not disposed to submit to this claim, and John Kysingh, upon the 31st of May, 1654, captured Fort Casimer by assault and without spilling a drop of blood. The Dutch at New York, hearing of these things, got up an expedition ; and sailing to Fort Casimer with a fleet of seven vessels, Peter Stuyvesant, governor of Manhattan, demanded a sur- render of the fortr— which was now called Trinity Fort— which was granted. Thus was the Dutch power re-established, but for a short time only. In 1664 the English captured Manhat- tan from the Dutch, and named it New York. An expedition under Sir Robert Carre, in October, 1664, came to the Dela- ware, demanded a surrender of Trinity Fort, but not obtaining it as quickly as desired fired two broadsides into it, landed storming parties, assaulted the fort, killed three Dutchmen and wounded ten, and in triumph raised the flag of Eng- land, which was thenceforth to be supreme on the Dela- ware for nine years. War between the Dutch and English commenced in 1672, and on the 30th of July in the next year a Dutch fleet, under the command of Commodores Cornelius Evertsie and Jacob Benckes, summoned the English fort at Staten Island to surrender, which was done without firing a shot, and the authorities at New York swore allegiance to the States-general and the prince of Orange. The people upon the South River accommodated themselves to the change of masters, and welcomed the Dutch. This was to be their last appearance upon the Delaware. In the next year, 1674, by a treaty between England and Holland, the settlements in America were ceded to Great Britain, and the territory once more passed under the English flag. WilHam Penn, having become somewhat acquainted with the character of the coun- try by being a part proprietor of West Jersey, sought larger possessions; and the British government being indebted to his father, Admiral William Penn, in actual money as well as for

16 HISTORY.

services rendered, the young Quaker found but little difficulty in obtaining a grant for a large tract of land upon wbich to found a colony, with a broad grant of feudal and political powers. The charter of Pennsylvania was granted at West- minster on the 4th of March, 1681 (old style).

Penn lost no time in preparing for the settlement of his colony. Having much influence among the English Friends, he published his proposals among them, offering liberal con- cessions. He immediately sent out to Pennsylvania his cousin, Captain William Markham, who had been a soldier, with a commission to be deputy governor of the province, and with instructions to inform the European inhabitants of Pennsylvania already settled there of the change in govern- ment, promising them liberal laws and allowance. Markham was also instructed to assemble the Indians and inform them that his intended policy toward them was peace and honesty. The lieutenant-governor arrived in New York on the 21st of June 1681, and in a short time afterward reached the Swedish and English settlements on the Delaware. He was followed by three commissioners, William Crispin, John Bezar and Nathaniel Allen, who had power to settle the colony, and, among other things, to lay out a principal city to be the cap- ital of the province, which William Penn determined should be called Philadelphia. The commissioners arrived m De- cember, 1681 ; and with the help of Thomas Fairman, an English surveyor who was living at Shackamaxon, north of the site chosen for the city, the plan of the great town was speedily laid out, so that when Penn himself arrived m the ship Welcome, in the latter part of October, 1682, the plan of the city and of the province was regulated to some degree and the system understood. Penn at once addressed himself to work. An assembly was convened, three counties, Phila- delphia, Bucks and Chester, were created, and proper laws were passed. After a stay of about twenty-two months, Penn was called to England, expecting to return in a short time. Trouble and disappointment met him at home. Charles II. died shortly after his arrival. James II. while duke of York

Ui

?3

HISTORY. 17

had been a warm personal friend of Penn. When he came to the throne, the Eoman Catholic principles of James created dissatisfaction and distrust among the English people, by which the friends of the king suffered, Penn being among them. When William and Mary succeeded to the throne, after the expulsion of James II., Penn was arrested for treason upon a charge of holding secret correspondence with the late king. He was afterward released, but again arrested and discharged. The British government took possession of the government of Pennsylvania and placed it under the juris- diction of Benjamin Fletcher, governor of Xew York, about October, 1692. The government was restored to Penn in the fall of 1694, and Markham was made lieutenant-governor. These difficulties prevented Penn from coming back to America until the latter part of 1699. He found a far dif- ferent state of affairs from what had existed when he left the city fifteen years before. There were streets, houses, some of them quite large and elegant, shops, warehouses and shipping. The dwelling-houses were estimated at 700, and the population at 4500. This visit was short. Efforts were made in England to annex all proprietary governments to the Crown. It was necessary that this attempt should be resisted; and in October, 1701, after having incorporated Philadelphia as a city, the proprietor set sail for England, expecting to return in a few months. He never did return. New embarrassments met him. His pecuniary wants and the treachery of his steward involved him to such a degree that he was arrested for debt and thrown into the Fleet Prison in 1708, where he continued for about nine months. In 1712 his health gave way, his memory became impafred, and during six years he lingered an imbecile, childish and gentle in his manners, the sad wreck of a strong mind. He died on the 30th day of the 5th month, July, old style, 1718. His government was administered for a time by his wife, Hannah. Subsequently it went into the hands of his children and their descendants as proprietors, and they administered the government, usually by lieutenant- governors, but sometimes in person, until the American revo- 2* B

jg HISTORY.

lution put an end to all gOTernments acting under English

^Mt^ry of the city for nearly .e.enty-fi.e yea^ after the second departure of Penn, so far as regards political and pul rmatters' is a record of quarrels between the lieutenant- governors and the various assemblies of the V^ormce r^ Stir were usually composed in majority of -enabe^ f^^« society of Friends holding peculiar doctrines m relation to the r^lawfulness of war. The members of the Penn family had ^turned to the religion of the Church of England, and the "ant-governors%pointed by them held no conBCienU u scruples against the right of using arms ^^ ^ ^^^^^^'^^^ Great Britain was involved in several wa.« with Eu™Pean nations, and her American colonies were m danger of attack and capture. Whenever these necessities arose, lieutenant- ;:vernors called upon the assemblies for appropriations of Lney to raise troops, which requisitions were feequently de- Ted or evaded upon various pretexts, some of which we e folded upon the alleged dishonesty of the proprietaries lu evading their own obligations on -* occasions and endeav- oring to throw them upon the people. In 1' 02 war was commenced by France and Spain with England, which lasted seTa years. Lieutenant-Governor John Evans, fearing a^ taXby the enemies' privateers or vessels of war, endeavored to 11 assistance from the assembly, which was denied. He aerefore under the authority of the charter, which gave he IrSor the powers of a captain-general, authorized the embodiment of a force which was called a militia, but which, r^lly not being authorized or supported by the assemb y, w^ Tvotanteer fori, probably the first which had been embodied L the American ;olonies. In 1706, Evans, who w- -p— and deficient in judgment, undertook to stir up the Quakers W a foonl contivance. A forged letter was brought up from New Oas le on the semi-annual fair-day, when great crowds of people were in the city, representing that several armed shinshad Entered the river Delaware, and were ooming up Sinton ion to attack and plunder the defenceless town.

HISTORY. 19

The goyernor himself made his appearance in public on horseback with drawn sword, calling upon the people to arm themselves and turn out in defence of the city. A great alarm ensued. People concealed their valuables and fled. A cer- tain number of persons appeared at the place of rendezvous with arms, and efforts were made to embody them in com- panies. The Quakers were neither enticed nor frightened into this movement. Some five or six young members of that sect were all that seemed to respond to the summons ; and when the deceit and falsehood were discovered, the indignation against Evans was so strong that the Penns found it necessary to withdraw him and appoint a successor. In 1709, under Lieu- tenant-Governor Charles Gookin, French privateers plundered the town of Lewes in the Lower Counties on the Delaware. The governor called on the assembly for a grant of £4000 to assist the queen in the invasion of Canada. The members would grant nothing for that purpose, but voted £500 as a present to the queen, which Gookin refused to receive. At the succeeding election in 1710 a change having been made in the character of the assembly, £2000 were voted to the queen.

In the year 1739, there being a state of disturbance between England and Spain, Governor Thomas issued letters of marque and reprisal against Spain preliminary to a declaration of war. The first privateer commissioned in Pennsylvania, the sloop George, Captain William Axon, scoured the seas under this authority. The governor applied for appropriations to the assembly for the defence of the province, and assistance to the Crown. But having undertaken to allow enlistments of servants, the assembly took umbrage, and a quarrel ensued with the usual acerbity. War with Spain was proclaimed on the 14th of April, 1740, the assembly obstructing the pro- ceedings as much as possible. Many privateers were com- missioned, and they made important captures during the next four years. Ere the war with Spain had closed a contest with France had opened, proclamation of which was made on the 11th of June, 1744. In 1745, Louisburg having been

HISTORY.

captured, the assembly was induced ^o f^^^J^ZlX king for the purchase of bread, beef, P"^^"' ™„\ce. othfr grains, to be used by the goTernor for t^e W s J^i The litter construed the words " "'l^- g^^"/ J^^v'de the powder, and declared that the assembly meant to evade Lmin responsibility by the use of t^-^-^.^OO for the year, 1746, the assembly was -^ucf *o ^te ^f,, ,efased. king's use, without condition In ^^^^ ^ J't,_ ^^tj™ had The'privateers, which in previous ye^s h^ ^^.M !>- mostly ceased to sail, for the ^'^^^^''^^''^r'^^^^Le having come unprofitable, the French and SP-^^^^— ^^ ^ch been nearly all swept ^^-^^^^ f .^.^r ^ad come up frigates on the coast, and a ^J''"'^^ P"^;^ „f ^^ieh when tliP Delaware beyond Bombay Hoot, news u

!?Ntvember In three days 500 signatures had been pio- of -November ^ ^ ^^ throughout the province,

cured to It, and v»ljte«""g ^,,e two regiments

By the beginning ot January, icto, intterv was

iu Philadelphia and others in the counties. ^ otte.y was , . •.. *^ftOO for the erection of a batteiy toi tne ?; t onh ity vMch w s so successful that by themiddle of m til fc»n wa. built upon the Delaware below

Itand It was mounted in 1750 with upward of fifty pr^e of cannon, of which the proprietaries gave fourteen. The

HISTORY. 21

preliminary peace agreed to between Great Britain, France and Spain at Aix-la-Chapelle in April, 1748, became known in Pennsylvania about the 24th of August of the same year, and hostilities ceased.

In 1739-40 the itinerant preacher Eev. George Whitefield was in Philadelphia, and his style of speaking and fervency created a great excitement. He preached at first in the es- tablished churches, but afterward spoke upon the State-house steps, from the balconies of houses, and at other places in the open air. So strong was the enthusiasm that it was resolved to erect a building for the special use of this preacher. One was commenced and partly finished on the west side of Fourth street south of the street now called Arch street, and he preached in it sixteen times in 1740, twelve times in 1745 and several times in 1746. Afterward it became the property of the College of Philadelphia, which was subsequently known as the University of Pennsylvania.

Braddock's defeat, in 1755, produced a more wonderful effect upon the assembly than any previous event. £5000 were voted to the king. But as the act contained a provision that the landed estates of the proprietaries should be taxed at the same rate as those of the inhabitants, the governor re- fused to sanction the grant. Braddock's expedition was in- tended to dislodge the French, who, by a series of settlements and forts extending from Canada to Louisiana, hemmed in the British colonies upon the coast and threatened their progress. Some of the nations of Indians were induced to 'unite with the French, and thus the frontiers became exposed to murders and outrages. Fresh clamor was made against the policy of the assembly, and the Quakers found that they could not withstand the evidences of public feel- ing. A militia law was therefore passed, in the preamble of which it was stated, in effect, that although the Quakers would not fight, out of conscience' sake, they could not con- scientiously prevent persons from fighting who had no scru- ples upon the subject. Associations for defence were there- fore authorized, and with such effect that before the end of

22 HISTORY.

the year there were eighteen companies of infantry in Phila- delphia organized under the new law-Benjaram FraiJilin be ng colonel of the city regiment and Jacob Duch^ of the county regiment-in addition to artillery, cavalry and six companies belonging to the old Association Against the Indians war existed, although not formally declared. Be- wards were offered for every male and female ?"->- ^;-|^' in and for the scalps of Indian men and women. This policy w^s recommended by ofiicers of the FOP™*^ 8"™— *f' but was not encouraged by the propr etors, although a liaW dozen scalps were brought in during the troubles. Wa was again declared against France at Easto" a„d 3^^^^* at Philadelphia on the 12th of August 1756. Colonel Arm strong's successful expedition ^g^-f K;*™S;f ^^^^^ ing of Captain Jacobs, an Indian leader, relieved the prov nee of danger from the savages in 1756. The war with France continued. Privateers were again commissioned and a ship-of-war, the property of the province and named the Pennsylvania frigate, was fitted out as a cruiser The assembly had changed so much that the enlisting of 2700 Ten for' military service was agreed to be necessary and a bounty of £5 for each recruit was authorized. Hostilities coutinuld with France and Spain until the prehmmary ti-ea y of Fontainebleau, November 3, 1762, news of which reached Philadelphia on the 25th of January in the succeeding year.

In 1763 the massacre of Indians at Paxton, Lancaster county led to the removal of many of the Moravian In-, ZnX Philadelphia for protection. The .f axt»n Boys^ as they were called, resolved to march to the city and kill these Indtens, and some two hundred of them came as far as Gelantown, where they halted. Meanwhile, the city w^ alarmed; citizens took up arms, barricades ^«« ^jted, and artillery placed in position to defend the place But the Pax ton Boys did not come. Negotiations were made with them by leading citizens, at Germantown, and the strength of the inva- sion melted away. The Indian outrages continued. Rewards were offered at this time under authority of the proprietors

HISTORY. 23

for scalps and prisoners. The expedition of Colonel Boquet in the summer of 1764 settled this trouble by a treaty made at the forks of the Muskingum, which ended the hostilities which had been carried on by the Indians under French in- fluence.

The reception of the news of the passage of the Stamp Act by the British Parliament in 1765 was followed by resolutions on the part of the people to practice economy. It was deter- mined that extravagance in funeral ceremonies should be dis- couraged, and simplicity preferred in all things. Agreements were entered into that, in order to encourage the production of wool, the eating of mutton and the drinking of foreign beer ought to cease, and the merchants and traders of the city, with scarcely an exception, entered into an agreement that they would not import British-made goods until the Stamp Act was repealed. John Hughes was appointed stamp-master for Pennsylvania. The stamps were brought in October, 1765, by the Eoyal Charlotte, under convoy of the British sloop-of-war Sardine. When these ships were seen coming around Glou- cester Point, the vessels in the harbor hoisted their flags at half-mast, the bells in the city were muffled and tolled, a meeting of citizens assembled at the State-house which sev- eral thousand attended. Resolutions were passed requesting Mr, Hughes to resign the position of stamp-collector. He declined to do so, but neglected to take possession of the stamps, which were taken on board the Sardine and carried back to England. These proceedings did not affect the vital- ity of the law, which required papers and writings to be stamped which were issued on or after the 18th of November. To evade the necessity of compliance, the almanacs for 1766 were published in advance of the usual time, and on the day before the act was to go into effect the two newspapers then published came out with black lines between the columns, skull and cross-bones with pick-axe and spade for the head- ing, with a coffin at the bottom of the last page. These were accompanied with a statement to the effect that the publica- tion of the journals would be suspended. This was not actu-

24 HISTORY.

Hllv done. Printed sheets were occasionally published which did not bear the titles of the journals, and after three weeks the publications were resumed. In regard to law-papers the matter was more serious. The public offices were closed for five months, and the lawyers resolved that it would be un- safe to conduct legal proceedings while the Stamp Act was m force A second vessel bringing stamps was also sent away, and a West India stamped newspaper and a few stamps were publiclv burned in front of the Coffee-house with expressions of detekation. News of the repeal of the Stainp Ac was re- ceived in Mav, 1766, by a merchant-vessel from England There was great applause and excitement. The captain who brought the news was escorted to the Coffee-house, invited to drink a patriotic toast in a glass of punch, and was presented with a told cocked-hat. The next day there was a grand feast at the State-house, and the officers of the royal ship, the Sar- dine, which had brought the stamps to Philadelphia and had remained in port from the time of the arrival, were invited

guests. , , , ^„

The gratification of the people was not enjoyed veiy long Parliament, whilst repealing the Stamp Act, directly asserted a rio-ht to tax America, and on the 29th of June, 1767, an act was'passed directing that duties should be levied in America upon paper, glass, painters' colors, lead and tea imported for the use of the people. The flame of excitement, whic^i had died out after the repeal of the Stamp Act, was renewed, and throughout the colonies it was determined to resist the attempt. On the 25th of April, 1768, in response to a cir- cular from Massachusetts, resolutions were adopted at a meeting at the State-house setting forth the grievances of the colonies, and subsequently it was determined to cease impor- tation from Great Britain. Under this agreement merchan- dise sent over from England was sent back or refused. Among these articles were malt, dry-goods, cheese and other mer- chandise. American manufactures were encouraged. Among the articles thus made were glassware, brass and wooden buttons, paper-hangings, papier-mach6, china, steel, woollen

HISTORY. 25

stuffs, silk, etc. The measures of resistance in the colonies compelled Parliament to attempt to satisfy the Americans. The duties on paper, glass and painters' colors were repealed in 1770, with a single exception of three pence per pound on tea. This concession was not satisfactory. The tax on tea was considered a means of keeping up the parliamentary claim, and it was resolved to maintain in force the non-importation agreements, not only as regarded tea, but all other articles of British manufacture. Whilst the payment of duties upon tea was resisted, the smuggling in of that article without payment of duties was encouraged. This led to the seizure by a king's revenue schooner of a pilot-boat in the Delaware in 1771, which contained tea intended to be brought into Philadel- phia, and to the rescue of the pilot-boat with the tea by about thirty persons, who, with blackened faces, boarded the king's vessel near Red Bank. They beset and overpowered the crew ; and binding the latter, they took possession of the pilot-boat, with her cargo, and sailed away. In 1773 the East India Com- pany resolved to export tea to America. In consequence, a meet- ing of citizens was held at the State-house' October 18, at which it was resolved that Parliament had no right to tax the Ameri- cans without their consent, and that any one who would re- ceive or sell the tea sent out to America would be denounced as an enemy to his country. The ship Polly, Captain Ayres, was selected as the vessel which was to bring the tea to Phila- delphia. Handbills and broadsides purporting to be issued " by the committee for tarring and feathering " were printed. They were addressed to the Delaware pilots, and to Captain Ayres himself, warning the former of the danger which they would incur if they brought the tea-ship safely up the river, whilst Captain Ayres was threatened with the application of tar and feathers if he attempted to land the tea. On Christmas day, 1773, the Polly came up the river as far as Gloucester Point, New Jersey, opposite the lower part of the city. An express from Chester had previously brought the news of her coming. A committee of citizens went on board, represented to Captain Ayres the danger he was in, and accompanied him

26 HISTORY.

to the State-house, where the largest meeting was convened which ever had been assembled in the city. This meeting resolved that the tea on board the ship should not be landed, that the vessel should not be entered or reported at the custom- house, and that the tea should be carried back immediately by Captain Ayres. The latter declared his willingness to abide by these resolutions. He was supplied with necessaries, and in two hours the Polly set sail and went down the river with her whole cargo.

In May, 1774, effigies of Wedderburne, who had insulted Dr Franklin before the English privy council, and of Gov- ernor Thomas Hutchinson of Massachusetts, were drawn through the streets in a cart, hanged on a gallows m front ot the Coffee-house and burned. In June 1, 1774, when the Boston Port Bill was to go into operation, there were solemn ceremonies, bells were tolled, stores and places of business were shut up, and religious exercises took place i^ churches and meeting-houses. On the 5th of September, 1774, dele- gates from eleven provinces met at Carpenters Hall, m Chestnut street, and electing Peyton Eandolphof Virginia president and Charles Thomson of Pennsylvania secretary, proceeded to consider the condition of the colonies. This first Congress adjourned in October, having resolved that contributions should be raised to relieve the distress of the people of Boston, that importations from Great Britain or her dependencies should cease on the 1st of December, 1774, and that exportation from America of all kinds should cease on the 10th of September, 1775. It was resolved that another Congress ought to be held at Philadelphia on the 10th of the

succeeding May. n^-,-r^

To carry out the spirit of the recommendations of this Con- gress, committees of inspection and observation were chosen for the city. Northern Liberties, Southwark and Kensington, and for the county. They exercised an important jurisdic- tion, which, in point of fact, was absolute.

News of the battles of Concord and Lexington reached the city near the evening of the 24th of April, 1775, and was not

HISTORY. 27

generally known until the next day. A meeting was held with- out delay at the State-house. It was attended by about eight thousand persons. Those who were present briefly resolved that they would "associate together to defend with arms their property, liberty and lives against all attempts to deprive them of it." This resolution was immediately car- ried out by the raising of troops, the building of forts and batteries upon the Delaware, the construction of floating bat- teries, fire-ships, galleys and vessels of war, and the prepara- tion of a chevaux-de-frise to be sunk in the river to obstruct the passage of hostile vessels. The manufacture and repair of arms, the casting of cannon-shot and musket-balls and the making of gunpowder were encouraged and provided for. In May, 1776, there was a naval action below the chevaux-de-frise between the state ship, guard-boats, galleys and a floating battery on the side of the Americans, and the British frigate Eoebuck and sloop-of-war Liverpool, which took place near the mouth of Christiana Creek. The British vessels were in great danger, but managed to escape, and returned to their cruising-grounds near the capes. On the 2d of July, 1776, Congress, which was sitting in the State-house, adopted the resolution of Richard Henry Lee of Virginia, offered June 7 and seconded by John Adams, in favor of the severance of all connection between the colonies and Great Britain, and independence of that power. On the 3d and 4th of July Congress debated the form of the declaration of the causes which had led to the resolution of independence. It was finally adopted on the 4th, and on the 8th of July the document was read for the first time to the people by John Nixon, a mem- ber of the Council of Safety, from the observatory which had been erected in the State-house yard to observe the transit of Venus in 1770. The king's arms were taken down from the court-room in the State-house and burned by the people. The Declaration was also read on the commons to the five battalions of city Associators. Bells were rung and bonfires lighted, and upon this occasion there can be little doubt that the old State-house bell joined in the clamor and fulfilled the

28 HISTORY.

command inscribed upon it when it was cast twenty-four years before : " Proclaim liberty througbotit the land unto all the inhabitants thereof." In the month of August, 1777 the British army, under Lord Howe, which had sailed trom New York was debarked at the head of the Elk Eiver, in Maryland, having been brought up the Chesapeake Bay in transports. Washington marched southward to meet the enemy. iHe battle of Brandywine was fought and lost. The massacre at Paoli was accomplished. A pitched battle near the War- ren Tavern, on the Lancaster road, about twenty miles from the city, was prevented by a terrible rain-storm Washington was ready to contest the passage of the Schuylkill at Parker s Ford. Howe, by a feint, was enabled to cross the Schuylkill at Fatland's and Gordon's fords on the 22d of September On the 26th two battalions of Hessian grenadiers, with a detach- ment of royal artillery, marched down Second street road and entered the city. A portion of the troops followed and a portion remained at Germantown. The state fleet, consisting of ships and galleys, remained in the Delaware above Fort Island or Mud Fort. Finding that the British were at- tempting to erect batteries upon the wharves of the city, these vessels moved up and engaged the British forces on shore. The issue was unfortunate. The Delaware Irigate ran aground and struck her flag. The Montgomery, the Fly and the row-galleys attempted to pass in front of the city, and reach the^ portion of the river north of it. A scl^ooner^was run aground; and not succeeding in the attempt, the Mon. gomery and the galleys made their way down t^e river and obtained safety under the guns of Mud Fort. On the 4th of October, Washington attacked the British army at German- town; and although he did not win a victory, he Bncceeded m producing such wholesome respect m the mmd of ^le British commander that the outlying detachments were called m and encamped in the city, and their safety from sudden attack was ensured by the construction of a chain of redoubts stretch- . Tng from the Delaware at Kensington to the hill at Fairmount with thick abattis and impediments between. The British

HISTORY. 29

were in possession of the city, but the Americans held the country beyond. The Americans had closed the Delaware by the chevaux-de-frise, which was protected by the Mud Fort and the fort at Eed Bank. The royal army was, in effect, be- leaguered and cut off from communication with the fleet which had entered the Delaware, but could not come up to the city in consequence of the American forts and batteries. The effort of General Howe was therefore turned to the task of re- leasing the river from the American domination. The British army brought with it a moderate supply of stores only, and these became diminished with the progress of each day, until suffering was experienced. The royal fleet below was enabled to take possession of the American battery at Billingsport, which was abandoned upon the approach of the ships. On the 21st of October, Colonel Count Donop, with Hessian grenadiers and chasseurs, crossed the Delaware in boats, and marching toward the fort at Eed Bank, which was held by Colonel Christopher Grreen of the Ehode Island brigade, demanded a surrender. Green refused, although he had but three hundred and fifty men, whilst Donop had twenty-five hundred. An assault was attempted and the enemy was repulsed. Donop was killed and his forces retreated, having lost four -hundred killed and wounded in this affair. Whilst the battle was going on at Eed Bank the British fleet made a bold effort to pass up the river and get through the chevaux-de-frise. The Pennsylvania galleys, under Commodore Hazlewood, resisted the attempt, but night coming on firing was suspended. Next morning at daylight it was discovered that the British frigates Eoebuck, Augusta and Merlin were aground. Float- ing batteries, galleys and fire-ships were sent against them, and the fort on Mud Island joined in the cannonade. The Augusta took fire and blew up. The Merlin was abandoned and set on fire, and also blew up. The other British vessels managed to get out of the danger with some loss, and dropped down the river.

The most difficult problem with the beleaguered British army was to capture the fort at Mud Island. To reduce this 3*

3Q HISTORY.

post batteries were erected upon the east '^f /-*J;^''^^f [he ScWMl Ei^er wWch together --"f '^^^^^^I twenty-four and thirty-two VO^nAer^^^^d.^^ been bor rowed from ships belonging to the British A^et. The siege If M„rt Fort may be said to have fairly commenced about the thof SeXr' Lieutenant-Colonel B--^^^^ was in command of the fort, was not idle Wr^h the nc'.

outside of the Mud Fort was ^1^ /^^-^^-f ' *~ ^l ginning of November, by a great -^''",^fJ°f/^'^Z

£^r-fth:t,:rrerm^Tetif^^^^

d^ed men The Pennsylvania armed boats and state vessek, the forTat Red Bank and a new batteiy erected on the Whl were able to accomplish something by way of diversion of the fire of the enemy upon the fort The bom

5:fte--rard=rrta=^

wir ^ThS -St hale been successful had not a floating trefv made from an East India ship razeed, which was named MiTant and carried sixteen twenty-four-pounders together i^^^lTl hi armed with three guns of similar calibre, man-

rtirbfmbarfmenTrere were only fiity men left available tlty totundred and iifty had been killed and wounded The works were knocked to pieces by the enemy's guns. The pal sldet wire beaten down, the parapet destroyed, the guns

HISTORY. 31

dismounted and the block-houses levelled. There was no fort to defend. On the 16th of October, Major Simeon Thayer, who was then in command, set fire to the barracks and all works that were combustible, and by the light of the fire crossed the Delaware in boats with the remainder of his garrison of forty men, and safely gained the shelter of Red Bank.

This disaster opened the Delaware to the British fleets, and it also put the American fleet in great peril. It was therefore determined that the latter could only find safety by seeking the waters of the upper Delaware, passing the city in the eflbrt. This was attempted on the 19th ; thirteen galleys and twelve armed boats succeeded in passing the city in the night. The next night the remaining vessels attempted to pass by. Some of the smaller craft succeeded ; but the larger vessels being discovered, fire was opened upon them from the cap- tured Delaware frigate near the city, and from British batteries upon the wharves; two vessels were driven on shore, but seven of the larger vessels belonging to the Continental fleet, with two floating batteries, were not so fortunate. The wind was contrary and the cannonade hot. As an only resort the vessels were set on fire when near Gloucester Point, were burned and blown up. Efforts were immediately directed against Red Bank. Comwallis, with two thousand men, marched on the Pennsylvania side of the river down to Chester, where he crossed the Delaware on the 19th, and was joined by fi-om two to three thousand men from New York under General Sir Thomas Wilson. Varnum, who was in command at Red Bank, abandoned the work upon the approach of Cornwallis. The latter, taking possession, marched the majority of his force to Gloucester. There was some skir- mishing with American troops which had been sent by Wash- ington with the intention of relieving Red Bank. On the 26th of November frigates and transports arrived at the wharves of the city, to the great joy of the royal troops and of the inhabitants, provisions having become scarce and high, beef selling at $1 a pound, chickens at 10s. each and potatoes

HISTORY.

the city until June 18, 177», an mxeivcn w

tlf months ftom the time of the fi-* oc-p^-' ^.^^ t,.

important mmary oP-^X^^iaJ; -n to attac. Howe marched out m De«mb^ ,^^^ ^^^^^ ^^^^^ ^^

"^t vf U s" g on tie defensive. There was some meet him, but stanamg uix ^.^ ^r,A after four days

.Mnnishing -^J^S^r^Ser^-^^^ P-ils of experiment the British armyj ^.^atory excursions into were sent out at various times, and predatory ^^^

tiie ^^^^^-■-^^:^JtX':i^r:il P^er and

Ir.CTu ^ese rperftlns 'the main body of the royal bloodshed. In these ope themselves

army t.ok no P-^. The office- ^^^^y ^.^^ ^^^ ^^^^^^^^

"CbTTa^L Kms and gambling, and near the with balls parties, coo g Mischianza, a grand

end of their ^^^y- ""-l^; "^l^m Howe, who wa« about ©te was given in honor of Sir WiUiam , ^.^^^^^_

rfrrttttSerC— of «X too. place

This fete, m t'^^^y^'' ^ ^^l^ile it was in progress the

inthelowerpa tof theerty.an ^^ ^^^^^ ^^^^ ^^^^

Americans in onsiteaWe to ^^^^^. ^^^ ^^^^^^^

lines north of the city, set ine otfook Two

out the body of the royal ^-P^, "^HUt peld was at-

days after, the --* ^-^^X^^^^l »rE^^^^^^ and

tempted by ^-^""^^o^;;!;*;^ Jr hed out to surprise General Grey, who, with 6500 tioop , m ^^^^^,^

La Fayette, who was posted on the R.dge 'o^t ^ ^^.^^^

ford. The plan was well -ll^-ff'^^.m in sufficient time a knowledge of the approach of ^^^^^ ^^

tomakearapidandskiHul retmitw y ^^^ ^^^^^^

the mormng °f«^'; ^^^^fMieManza, the British troops after the triumphant fete of the Misc , ^^^

marched down to the ne^k m the loj^J P^ J,^,i„^

crossed the Delaware m boats, and betoi e ni„

"Ge^al' Benedict Arnold was sent immediately with a small

HISTORY. 33

force to take possession of the city, and he remained in mili- tary command for several months, during which time he managed to effect a marriage with a daughter of Judge, after- ward Chief- Justice, Shippen, In order to keep up an ap- pearance of wealth consistent with the style of living which he was compelled to assume, he resorted to illicit speculations and operations of various kinds, which, when subsequently discovered, stimulated the traitorous intentions which finally carried him over to the British army.

Congress came back shortly after the evacuation, and re- mained until June, 1783, when the mutinous conduct of some troops of the Pennsylvania line, who demanded their pay that was long in arrears, frightened the members to such a degree that they hastily adjourned to Princeton. Afterward they went to New York, where they remained until the adoption of the Federal Constitution and the inauguration of Wash- ington, when it was determined that the city of Philadelphia should be the seat of the United States government for ten years ; after which Congress would remove to Washington city.

In May, 1787, the members of the convention to frame a Constitution for the United States met at the State-house, and having elected George Washington president and William Jackson secretary, sat with closed doors until the 18th of September, when the scheme of the Federal Constitution was adopted. The assembly of Pennsylvania was in session at the time, and it was determined to press the ratification of the Constitution without delay. Eight days afterward a resolu- tion to authorize the calling of a State convention was pre- sented. The opponents of the instrument, who were in the minority, sought for delay, and resorted to a plan since fre- quently adopted in legislative bodies by arranging that a portion of the members should absent themselves from the meeting, and thus defeat action in consequence of the want of a quorum. This was prevented by an act of violence. Two of the members of the assembly were seized at their lodgings, dragged through the streets with roughness and abuse, and pushed into the chamber of the House, where,

C

34 HISTORY.

notwithstanding their protests, they were kept until the reso- lution was adopted. _ , ., .- :^ During the stay of the memhei^ of the Federal convention m the city they witnessed a successful experiment of John Fitch with his steamboat. Subsequently that unfortunate man per- fected his inyention to such a degree that during the summer of 1790 the vessel ran regularly as a passenger and ireigiit boat upon the Delaware between Philadelphia, Burlington, Chester, Bristol, and other places, announcing the trips by advertisements in the newspapers, and traversing during that season over more than three thousand miles. _

The final adoption of the Federal Constitution was cele- brated in Philadelphia on the 4th of July, 1788, by a magnifi- cent procession, in which the working operations of various trades were shown and many exceedingly novel features

"%ll^lZ^urned at New York on the 12th of August 1790 to meet at Philadelphia, which was to be the seat ot government until 1800. The principal ofiicers removed their residences shortly afterward. In 1790, Washington lived m Market street, between Fifth and Sixth, in a house once be- longing to Governor Richard Penn, which had been tne resi- dence of Lord Howe during the British occupation. John Adams, Vice-President, lived in the Hamilton niansion,_ at Bush Hill Thomas Jefferson, Secretary of State, at 174 liign street between Fourth and Fifth, on the south side; and other'officers, a^ boarders and housekeepers, in various parts of the city Congress was accommodated in the building which had been erected on the State-house square for the purposes of a county court-house, at the south-east corner of Sixth and Chestnut streets. The Supreme Court of the United States sat in the City Hall, south-west corner of Fifth and Chestnut streets. The Treasury Department was in the old Clark or Pemberton mansion, south-west corner ot Third and Chestnut streets. Other government offices were in different parts of the city, and the locations of some «f them were changed once or twice between 1790 and 1800.

HISTORY. 35

During the stay of the Federal government, Washington and Adams were inaugurated as President and Vice-President March 4, 1793, and Adams and Jefferson as President and Vice-President March 4, 1797, in the chamber of the House of Representatives. During the presidencies of Washington and Adams politics ran high, in consequence of the French revo- lution and of the enlistment of American feeling upon one side in strong sympathy with the democratic proceedings in France, whilst upon the other side conservatism disapproved of the excesses of the persons in power. There were stormy scenes of excitement, impassioned and strange demonstrations, threatening on many occasions the public peace. The estab- lishment of the two great political divisions, the Eepublican or Democratic party and Federal party, was a consequence. '

A fearful epidemic, the yellow fever, visited Philadelphia in the years 1793, 1797 and 1798, at which periods it was exceed- ingly disastrous. There were visitations also of less mortality in intervening and subsequent years. These afflictions created great alarm. Large numbers of persons left the city, so that in comparison with the number which remained the mortality was dreadful. The deaths by this malady between 1793 and 1799 were over 12,000. The succession of disasters attendant upon this pestilence drew attention to the sanitary condition of the city and to the supj)Osed causes of the misfortune. Two influences were agreed upon as having something to do with the calamity. Dock Creek, which extended up into the heart of the city at that time, had become, by the buildings around it and drainage into it, offensive, and by unhealthy exhala- tions assisted the progress of disease. The water used by the inhabitants was derived from wells, and was believed to be jDolluted by drainage from the surrounding soil. Measures were taken to arch over the creek, and a street was laid out above the sewer. It was resolved that the supply of water should be taken from the Schuylkill Eiver. The construction of pumping- works at Chestnut street, on the banks of that stream, was commenced May 2, 1799, and the first water dis- tributed January 1, 1801. *-

36 HISTORY.

After the year 1800 the removal of the capital of the State of Pennsylvania to Lancaster and eventually to Harrisburg, and of the seat of the Federal government to Washington city, sub- tracted from Philadelphia the prominence which it had enjoyed from the time of the settlement of the province in the aff'airs of Pennsylvania, and from the time of the Congress of 1774 -with few exceptions-as the capital of the nation. The city was no longer the theatre of great events. The interest of the inhabitants was taken up with municipal affairs and - the prosecution of business, and for some years the surface ot progress was unruffled by any striking incident

Steamboats began to ply regularly upon the Delaware Eiver in the year 1808, when the Phcpnix, built by John Stevens at Hoboken, N. J., was brought around by sea, ^^^ e^gMeen years after the successful demonstrations of John Fitch had ceased, steam-navigation was resumed ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ ^^ . During the war between the United States and Great Britain which commenced in 1812 the city of Philadelphia maintained its duty toward the cause of the country. The forts on the Delaware were strengthened and volunteer com- panies formed. In May, 1813, three companies, under Colonel Lewis Rush, marched from the city, and were stationed upon .he peninsula between the Delaware and Chesapeake Bays They remained for two months. There was an engagement m July between British war vessels and the gunboat flotilla, under command of Captains Angus and Sheed, in which the Ameri- cans behaved with spirit. In 1814, after the news of the capture of Bladensburg, the inhabitants of the city, by volun- tary work, threw up entrenchments near Gray's Ferry com- manding the road to Baltimore. An encampment was formed near Kennett Square, in Chester county, and twenty-one companies of volunteers from the city of Philadelphia, with four companies of city militiamen, were in service at that time in camps Bloomfield and Dupont. They remained until the end of November, being, with many other troops from the State embodied as the advance light brigade, under the command of Brigadier-General Thomas Cadwallader. -

HISTOKY. 37

The improvement of inland navigation by means of canals, which would give to large districts of the country facility of communication with the cities, was an early matter of consid- eration and interest, particularly with the inhabitants of Philadelphia. As early as 1791 a committee of the legisla- ture of Pennsylvania presented a comprehensive plan for a canal uniting the Schuylkill and Susquehanna Elvers, and another by which a passage could be secured from the Sus- quehanna to the Alleghany Eiver, and between the Susque- hanna and Lake Erie, with portage connections and other means to ensure transportation between Philadelphia and Pittsburg, together with the improvement of the navigation of several streams, such as the Delaware, Lehigh, Lackawanna and others. This matter was discussed for several years, but did not approach a satisfactory solution until 1824, when explorations were made of various canal routes, and in the next year several surveys were made and routes recommended. In time some of these works were completed under the authority and at the expense of the State of Pennsylvania. The Schuylkill navigation improvement was put into opera- tion in 1825. The Lehigh canal, which was commenced in 1818, although not finished until 1838, was in use for bringing down coal many years before the latter period, and the Schuylkill navigation was equally valuable. Several canals in other States connected with waters belonging to Pennsyl- vania were promoted and assisted and built with Philadel- phia capital. Among these may be mentioned the Delaware and Chesapeake canal, extending through Delaware and Maryland, which opened a water-way between Philadelphia and Baltimore, the Delaware and Earitan canal of New Jer- sey, which facilitated communication between Philadelphia and New York, and many other similar works. >

The first railroad communication with the city was ac- complished in the year 1832 by the building of a railroad to Germantown. Shortly after, the Columbia Eailroad, a portion of the State works in the line by railroad and canal to Pitts- burg, was finished. The railroad to Wilmington and Balti- 4

38 HISTORY.

more, and the Camden and Amboy Railroad to New York, were in progress and opened in the course of that year or the year sncceeding. The Reading Railroad was opened on the 10th of February, 1842, and soon became a dangerous rival to the Schuvlkill Navigation Company, which before that time had brought coal to the city. The Pennsylvania Rail- road was projected in 1845-46 and chartered April 13 of the latter year. The North Pennsylvania, Sunbury and Erie and other great lines of railway followed, and their effect was to largely increase the business of the city and promote its in- dustries.

The first gas for illuminating purposes used in the city was manufactured in works belonging to Peale's Museum, the Chestnut Street Theatre and to the Masonic Hall several years before it was publicly introduced. Gas was first made for general consumption by a private company which was char- tered in 1835, with a capital of $125,000. The works were first put into operation on the 18th of February, 1836. The city soon bought out the stockholders. Other gas-works were authorized in the adjoining districts, but after consolidation the whole of them fell into the possession of the city of Philadelphia, with the single exception of the Northern Liberties and Kensington gas-works. *

The Asiatic cholera, which swept over the United States m 1832, made its appearance in Philadelphia on the 5th of July in that year. Preparations were made for it. Several hos- pitals were established. The last case was reported on the 4th of October. During the interval there had been 2314 cases and 935 deaths. The ratio of cases to population in the city proper was one in seventy, and deaths one in one hundred and seventv-two and a fraction. In some parts of the city the proportions were different, and in favor of the popu- lation. TT -4. J

A spirit of riot and disorder which passed over the United States in 1834 reached Philadelphia in August of that year, and led to disturbance between whites and blacks on the 12th or 13th. Colored people were assaulted, their houses broken

HISTORY. ^^

into a meeting-house torn down near the Wharton market, and' other outrages occurred. In the fall of the same year a very serious riot took place of a political character near the Moyamensing Hall, Ofeiuut'street, west of Ninth street, and a row of houses was burned. In July, 1835, there were attacks made upon the blacks, and houses were burned. In 1838 this feeling became strongly violent against the friends of the abolition of slavery. Pennsylvania Hall, a large building devoted to public discussion, situate at the south-west corner of Sixth and Haines streets, below Eace was dedicated by abolitionists May 14, 1838. It was attacked by a mob, set on fire and totally destroyed on the 17th. In 1840 there were riots at Kensington caused by the opposition of the people to the extension of a track of the Philadelphia and Trenton Eailroad along Front street. The rails were torn up and houses burned. In 1842 Smith's Beneficial Hall, in Lombard street between Seventh and Eighth, was burned by a mob excited against the blacks. The most terrible riots which the city had known occurred in the year 1844, partly from sectarian prejudices and partly from politics. A meeting of members of the Native American party, which was held upon the 6th day of May, 1844, at the comer of Master and Second streets, was attacked and dis- persed. The persons engaged in it rallied to a market-house near by upon Washington street, now called American street, north of Master. This meeting was soon attacked and fire- arms were used, and it was alleged that musketry was fired from adjoining buildings. The participants of the meeting armed themselves and resisted. Houses were broken into and set on fire. These events led to farther deplorable ex- cesses. The Eoman Catholic church of St. Michael near by, and a female seminary under the management of sisters of a religious order, were burned, and many buildings in the neigh- borhood were sacked and destroyed. In the evening the Eoman Catholic church of St. Augustine, in Fourth street below Vine, was also set on fire, with the parsonage-house adjoining. All the Catholic churches were in great danger,

40 HISTORY.

and many of them were guarded by citizens. During the disturbances a large number of persons were killed on both sides, principally in the fight between Americans and Irish on the first day. Troops were called out at the beginning, and were in service several days. On the 4th of July of the same year the Native Americans had a very large and showy procession, which marched through the streets without the slightest disturbance. A day or two afterward a discovery that muskets had been taken into the Catholic church of St. Philip de Neri, Queen street, Southwark, led to a renewal of the excitement. A company for the protection of the church had been formed among the members, and the arms were for their use. The military were brought into requisition, and trouble ensued between them and the people who were drawn to the neighborhood of the church. The church was broken into by the mob on Sunday, July 7, but it was protected by a committee of citizens of the district, and no particular damage was done. After the disturbance was quelled and there was a probability that there would be no further dif- ficulty, the troops came upon the ground in strong force. In clearing the streets of the crowd some diflaculties occurred between the soldiers and people. It was said that a soldier was struck with a brick, and the captain of the company which was clearing the streets ordered his men to fire. They fired two volleys into the crowd. Several persons were killed in- stantly, and others wounded. This occurrence caused intense excitement. The mob spirit, which had been quelled, arose again. The soldiers were attacked with cannon obtained in the neighborhood, and with musketry. They responded with artillery and musketry. The rioters had four pieces, which were worked by sailors and watermen. During the night of the 7th and the morning of the 8th of July the battle con- tinued. It was not renewed, however. Two soldiers were killed and several wounded. Of the citizens seven were killed and a large number wounded. This was the most bloody riot which ever occurred in Philadelphia, but it may be said to have been the last, as since that time no very serious violation of the peace has occurred. -.

HISTORY.

41

On the lltli of March, 1789, the legislature of the State granted a new charter to the city of Philadelphia, the old one having been superseded by the events of the American revo- lution. The act was made applicable to the city as laid out by Penn, the general form of administration differing little from the old system. In the course of time suburbs outside of the city of Philadelphia adjoining were created Districts having separate municipal powers. Under this system grew up a heterogeneous aggregation of municipalities, independent of each other, frequently discordant in policy, by which the interests of the people of the city and county of Philadelphia, which were identical, were made by the course of legislation hostile to each other. This evil became so great that in 1854 was passed what is generally called the Consolidation Act, by which the powers of the petty district governments were an- nulled and the boundaries of the old city of Philadelphia were so enlarged as to embrace the whole county, which was hence- forth to be governed by a select and common council, a mayor and department officers, upon the plan of a great municipality.

During the long period of over 190 years of progress, the citi- zens of Philadelphia have promoted numerous good works for the benefit and advantage of mankind. To assist these objects ^ churches were built and sustained ; hospitals for the relief of the sick founded ; asylums and houses for the friendless and helpless were instituted ; benevolent associations which sought to accomplish good by merciful and kind acts were estab- lished. Schools, academies and colleges were opened. Public works of importance and necessity were constructed at great expense. Streets and roads were opened, paved, lighted, and the houses upon them supplied with water and gas. Compre- hensive systems of drainage were adopted, public buildings were constructed and parks and enclosures thrown open to general use, and under a municipal government equal in most things to an understanding of the necessities of a large popu- lation, the course of improvement has been steady and un- broken.'-

4*

42

OFFICIAL COAT-OF-ARMS.

3fAY0R'S OFFICE, Philadelphia, June 8, 187k.

The acconrpanying Goat-of-Arnrs of the City of Philadelphia has heen engraved by Messrs. Collins & M ' Leester, from the original draw- ing submitted to Councils by Col. Frank M. Etting, and by them

approved.

I recognize it as the Official Goat-of-Arms of the City of Philadel- phia, being faithful in all its details.

r . WM. S. STOKLEY,

Mayor.

GUIDE-BOOK TO PHILADELPHIA.

CHAPTEE I.

INTRODUCTORY.

P

iHILADELPHIA, the largest and most important city of the State of Pennsylvania, and the second city of the United States in population, is situated between two large rivers, the Delaware and the Schuylkill, at their junction, and nearly one hundred miles from the Atlantic Ocean, following the course of the Delaware Eiver and Bay. Its precise latitude is 39° 57^ north and longitude 75° 10^ west, being 136 miles north-east of Washington and eighty-seven miles south-west of New York. When the city was planned under authority of William Penn in 1682, it occupied a level plain, but the large additions since made are mostly located in a rolling country, and now it exceeds in extent not only any city of the Union, but also any city in Europe, not excepting London. As first planned the city was bounded by the two rivers and by Vine and Cedar streets. Its total territory now covers 129ith square miles or 82,700 acres. Its entire length from north to south is about twenty-three miles, and its average width five and a half miles from east to west. Within this area there are about 750 miles of paved streets. Penn's original and admirable arrangement of the streets is still adhered to, those running from river to river being crossed by those running nearly north and south, the latter being designated in numerical order from the Delaware Eiver, as Front, Second, Third and so on, whilst those running east and west in the old city are generally named for trees, as

43

44 STREETS, AND NUMBERING HOUSES.

Walnut, Chestnut, Spruce, Pine, etc. North and south of the old city the cross-streets are generally named after persons historical and otherwise. The city is divided north and south at Market street, those streets running south being designated South Second, South Third, etc., while those the other side are known as North Second, North Third, etc., etc. The houses are numbered by blocks extending from principal street to principal street, small intermediate streets being in- cluded in the blocks. Thus the houses upon the first block from Front to Second street upon any of the cross or dividing streets are numbered from 100 to 200, from Second to Third street the numbered buildings begin at 200, at Third street they commence at 300, and so on. With a little thought a stranger will soon find this plan most simple; for instance, 510 Walnut street will be on the south side of Walnut street, between Fifth and Sixth streets, the odd numbers always be- ing on the north side of each street and the even numbers on the south side. No. 510 Market, Arch or any other street running east and west will always be between Fifth and Sixth on the south side. The streets running north and south are numbered on the same plan. Market street is the dividing line. North Front, North Second, North Third, or any other street running north and south is north of— or as we say in Philadelphia, above— Market street. South Front, South Second, or any other street running north and south, is south of or below Market street. One hundred numbers are allotted to each square. The odd numbers are on the east side of each street, the even numbers on the west. Thus, No. 20 North Front, No. 20 North Tenth, or No. 20 in any north street, is between Market and Arch streets. No. 120 is between Arch and Race, etc. Every square commences on a new hundred numbers. The same arrangement obtains m the streets south of Market which run north and south. By this plan a stranger who has the number of a house to which he desires to go can by reference to his own position, consult- ing the city map and counting the squares between, tell very nearly how far he has to go. The intermediate streets are

STREET NUMBERS.

45

numbered on the same plan ; for instance, Cherry street begins at Third street between Arch and Race streets and runs west. The houses on that street begin at No. 300.

STREET NUMBERS. North and south, Market street being the dividing line.

NOETH.

Arch

Race

Vine

No. 100

;. 200

300

Callowhill 400

Buttonwood 500

Green 600

Fairmount avenue 700

Brown 800

Poplar 900

Girard avenue 1200

Thompson 1300

Master , 1400

Jefferson 1500

Oxford 1600

Columbia avenue 1700

Montgomery avenue 1800

Berks 1900

Norris 2000

Diamond 2100

Susquehanna 2200

Dauphin 2300

York 2400

Cumberland 2500

Huntingdon 2600

Lehigh 2700

Somerset 2800

Cambria 2900

Indiana 3000

Clearfield... 3100

Allegheny 3200

Westmoreland 3300

Ontario 3400

Tioga

Venango. Erie

South.

Chestnut

Walnut

Spruce

Pine

Lombard

South

Bainbridge

Catharine

Christian

Carpenter

Washington

Federal

Wharton

Reed

Dickinson

Tasker

Morris

Moore

Mifflin

McKean

Snyder

Jackson .

Wolf

Ritner

Porter

Shunk

Oregon avenue.

Johnson

Bigler

Pollock

Packer

Curtin

No.

100

200

300

400

500

600

700

800

900

1000

1100

1200

1300

1400

1500

1600

1700

1800

1900

2000

2100

2200

2300

2400

2500

2600

2700

2800

2900

3000

3100

3200

3500 Numbers on streets running east and

WEST begin at west side of cross streets, thus: Front street, 100; Second street, 200; Broad street, UOO; Sixty-fifth street, 6500.

3600

3700

46 POPULATION.

Philadelphia now comprises all the territory formerly em- braced in the county of the same name, and is entitled to send to the national Congress five Representatives and to the State legislature eight Senators and twenty-eight Representatives. The water privileges of Philadelphia are superior to those of any other city, as ships of the largest size can come directly to the city docks. Located between two large rivers, with wide streets extending from one to the other, and fanned with cur- rents of fresh air, the healthfulness for which Philadelphia is so well known is thereby secured. The waters of both the Delaware and Schuylkill are fresh and abound in fish. The fame of the Delaware shad is world-wide and the business of shad-fishing forms quite an important industry during the spring months.

POPULATION.

According to the United States census of 1870, the popula- tion of Philadelphia amounted to 674,022 persons, of which 490,308 were natives of the United States and 183,624 foreign born. During the ten years between 1860 and 1870, notwith- standing the great drain incurred through the loss of volun- teers for the war, it increased to the extent of 108,493 ; the pop- ulation (January 1, 1875), is estimated at 794,000. The births are on an average from 300 to 400 per week and the deaths 200 to 300, the annual rate of mortality being 20^ per 1000 liv- ing persons. Philadelphia is known as the City of Homes, . and its citizens are on the average more comfortably lodged than in any other American city. The number of dwelling- houses as computed by the census of 1870 was 112,366, while New York had but 64,044 dwelling-houses and Brooklyn 46,834, so that there were more dwelling-houses in Philadel- phia than in New York and Brooklyn together, the average number of persons to each house in Philadelphia being less than six, while in New York the average is 14.72 and in Brook- lyn 8.62. At the present time Philadelphia has not less than 160,000 families and about 184,000 dwellings, and it leads all

POPULATION.

47

American cities in social and home comforts. The buildings of all kinds are at least 150,000.

There is a large population in the cities and towns within the immediate radius of Philadelphia which are more or less dejDendent upon that city, and should therefore be referred to. This population numbers something over one million, and, added to that of the city proper, would be equal to that of the State of Minnesota, with a much greater consumption of food. The increase in the population of the city and of the build- ings necessary for their accommodation is shown in the following table :

City aijd Suburbs. :

City and

COUKTKY.

Year.

Dwelling- Population. Houses. '

Dwelling- Houses.

Population.

1683...

80

500

1684... 1700...

2,500

700

4,500

1744...

1,500

9,750

1749...

2,076

12,500

1753...

2,300

14,653

1760...

2,960

18,756

1777...

5,395

23,734

1783...

6,000

37,000

1790... 1800... 1805...

6,651

9,868

13,461

44 996

54,391

70'287

i

81,009

1808...

City proper.

47,786

1810...

15,814

96,660

16,682

111,210

1820...

15,662

114,410

20,565

137,097

1830...

25,172

167,811

27,968

188,961

1840...

38,704

220,523

53,078

258,037

1850...

54,046

360,305

61,278

408,762

1860... 1870... 1875...

89,979 112,457 134,000

568,034 674,022 794,000

Estimated.

The census of 1777 was taken by order of Sir William Howe, when the British army was in possession of the city. At that time many Whigs and patriots were absent, and it is estimated that the population in the same year before the entry of the British was about 30,000.

In 1854 the boundaries of the city were by the Consolida- tion Act extended over the whole of the county, so that the

4g HEALTH GOVERNMENT.

distinction between the city and the suburbs or adjoining in- corporated districts and the county was abolished.

HEALTH— VITAL STATISTICS. The health of Philadelphia is pre-eminent, the mortality beins; 1 to every 1000 persons less than that of London, 2 to every 1000 less than Paris, and 7 to every 1000 less than New York This is due to the unbounded supply of fresh water and its universal use, as there are few houses even of the cheaper class that are not supplied with a bath-room with convenient arrangements for full supply of hot and cold

water. . .

In 1874 the total number of interments m the city was 16 315 persons; of these, still-born and bodies brought from other localities were 1077, leaving the actual city death total 15 238 According to the estimated population, July 1, 18/4, the deaths were equal to every 50.86 of the population, or equal to a death-rate per thousand of 19.66. The number of registered births in 1874 was 19,387, an increase over the former year of 685, or 3.53 per cent. Pro rata of births to population, 25.01 per 1000. The number of registered mar- riages was 6639 ; ratio of 8.55 in every 1000.

According to the return of the English Eegistrar-General for 1872, the annual death-rate per 1000 living persons m the principal cities of the world was as follows :

Madras 37.6

Vienna 34.4

Rome ^-•-

Florence ^^-^

Turin 30.4

New York 30.1

Berlin ^H

Bombay 27.6

Brussels 26.5

Paris 24.4

London 22.7

Philadelphia, 1874 19.66

CITY GOVERNMENT. Philadelphia has a municipal government consisting of a Mayor and Eecorder, with a Select and Common Council. The Mayor is elected by the people for a term of three years. His power is supervisory over the city departments, control- ling over the police, and he has a right of veto or of approval

GOVERNMENT FOOD SUPPLY. 49

of ordinances passed by City Councils. The Select Council is composed of thirty-one members, one from each ward, elected by the people for a term of three years. The Common Coun- cil is composed of members elected for a term of two years and representing one for each two thousand taxables. The management of the city is transacted under the control of Councils, the various departments, special trusts and commis- sioners. They comprise Receiver of Taxes, City Treasurer, City Controller, City Solicitor and City Commissioners, elected by the people for terms of two and three years. Special Boards, the Guardians of the Poor, Inspectors of the County Prison, Board of Health, Board of Eevision of Taxes, Board of Pub- lic Education, Commissioners of Fairmount Park (appointed by the courts and Councils), Managers of the House of Cor- rection, Port Wardens, Board of Surveys, Department of Water, Department of Highways, Department of Markets and City Property, Department of Surveys, Trustees of the Gas- Works, Commissioners of the Fire Department, Department of Girard Estates, Trustees of City Ice-Boats, Superintendent of City Railroads, Commissioners of the Sinking Fund (ap- pointed by Councils), Department of Police (appointment by the Mayor), and the Public Buildings Commission and South Street Bridge ConuniBsion, originally established by appoint- ment of the State Legislature.

SUPPLY OF FOOD. There are few cities in the world where so much attention is paid to the quality of food as in Philadelphia ; anything savoring of adulteration is at once discarded, and there is a very strict inspection of the degree of freshness of butter, eggs, fish, vegetables, etc., on the part of housekeepers. Through this care the diet of the poorer portion of the pop- ulation is better than in any other city, and beggars are seldom seen. The consumption of the city is on an average per week 4500 beef" cattle, 15,000 sheep and 10,000 hogs, the beef and mutton being mostly supplied by the State of Texas, and the pork from Ohio and Western Pennsylvania. The 5 D

50 FOOD WATER SUPPLY.

best hogs in the country are sent to Philadelphia to be killed, and Philadelphia-cured hams and bacon are a specialty in the markets or at the seaboard. The supply of butter, eggs, milk and poultry from the neighboring counties is almost un- limited and very superior in quality. A large abattoir has been projected in Philadelphia to afford special facilities for the supply of beef, mutton and pork direct to the butchers, thus diminishing the number of slaughter-houses in the city. The price of beef varies by the carcass at from eight to twelve cents per pound, a large portion being sold to the packers at cost, the balance disposed of at a large profit. The average price per head at the drove-yards is $70 for beef, $25 for pork and $7 for sheep. There are about 2500 butchers in the city to distribute this supply of food. The principal d6p6ts for the sale of cattle and sheep and lambs are at the Park drove-yards, Thirty-second street and Lan- caster avenue, the abattoir, the stock-yard, Forty-fourth street and Belmont avenue, and the new stock-yards at Paschalville, in the south-west portion of the city. The sales at the former amounted in 1873 to 156,998 head, with a total receipt of $778,865.82. The various railroads run- ning into Philadelphia from all directions ensure that the supply of food will always be equal to the demand, and for that reason alone its selection as the city of the International Exhibition was very proper.

WATER SUPPLY.

Philadelphia is a city of cleanliness, and its inhabitants are noted for their free use of water, with which they are abun- dantly supplied. The Water Department is under the control of the city ; it consists of the following officers : Chief En- gineer, Eegister, Chief Clerk, etc., with a large force of clerks, draughtsmen, engineers and laborers. The water-works are divided into the following sections : The Fairmount, Schuyl- kill, Delaware, Belmont, Eoxborough and Chestnut Hill.

The Fairmount Works are beautifully located on the Schuylkill River at the lower end of the East Park; the

WATER-WOKKS. 51

buildings are well constructed, and the enormous engines used in forcing the water from the river to the distributing reservoir on the summit of the hill facing the buildings are well worthy a visit. The machinery and engines are kept in a spotless condition, and the works can be examined by the daintiest lady without fear of soil or stain. Situated on the east side of the river, and above the new bridge, the Fairmount Water- Works are easily accessible either by the passenger railways of the Green and Coates streets, Eace and Vine, Arch street, Callowhill street and Union (Spring Garden street) lines, the latter running north on Ninth street and upon Spring Garden and Brown streets. All of these run direct to Fairmount. These works hav(^ long been considered as a model for other cities. The reservoir is divided into four basins, having in the aggregate a capacity of 26,896,636 gallons. During the year 1874 there were 7,582,023,422 gallons supplied from the Fair- mount works ; this is nearly four times the quantity of 1854. Of all the water distributed in 1874, the daily average being 42,111,730 gallons, these works furnished nearly 50 per cent., an average of 21,504,736, or one-half of the whole supply.

Fairmount Works are run with seven turbine and one breast-wheel, with a Worthington steam-pump, for use when the water-wheels cannot be run in consequence of low water in the river.

The first water-works of the city embraced piimping-engines at Chestnut street, Schuylkill, and a distributing reservoir in a large circular tower erected at Centre Square, at the intersection of Broad and Market streets, commenced May 2, 1799. Water was first passed out for distribution on the 1st of January, 1801. In the course of a few years more extensive means of supply were needed. On the 19th of April, 1819, work was commenced for the erection of a dam across the Schuylkill at Fairmount, Wheel-houses were built and reservoirs prepared. Three water-wheels were set in motion December 25, 1822, and the work was then considered fin- ished. The first vv^ater passed out from the reservoir on the 1st of July succeeding. Fairmount Water- Works originally embraced a limited space, including Fairmount Hill and the ground imme- diately adjoining, bounded east by the street now called Twenty- fourth street, west by the Schuylkill River, south by Callowhill

52 WATER- WORKS.

street and north by Coates street, the latter now being embraced within the boundaries of the Park. Subsequently, the city purchased Lemon Hill, north of the works, embracing the ground west of the Reading Railroad and extending along the Schuylkill, a point at some distance south of Girard avenue bridge. The history of the Park will give particulars of further extensions of the property. The Fairmount works supply the reservoirs at Fairmount and a reservoir situate between Corinthian avenue and Twenty-second and Parrish and Poplar streets.

The Schuylkill Water- Works are located on the river at the foot of Thompson street, supplying the Eleventh, Twelfth, Thirteenth, Fourteenth and Fifteenth wards of the city. They are brick buildings, originally constructed in the Egypt- ian style and conspicuous in their high chimney-stack, which looks like a great Egyptian pillar. During the year 1874 these works furnished a supply of 1,536,505,220 gallons, or a daily average of 5,226,008 gallons.

The Schuylkill works are run by steam-power, with Cornish side-lever and compound engines.

The works now known as the Schuylkill works were originally erected by the commissioners of the districts of Spring Garden and Northern Liberties, independent municipal corpoi-ations before the passage of the Consolidation Act of 1854. These districts obtained their water by pipes connected with the Fairmount works for many years. The rates of water-rents by which the city supplied the districts were higher than those charged to the inhabitants of the city. This discrimination was a source of discontent. The com- missioners of Spring Garden and Northern Liberties applied to the State legislature for redress, and on the 18th of October, 1843, an act was passed conferring authority upon the commissioners of Spring Garden and Northern Liberties to erect independent water- works'^ for the supply of their own inhabitants, unless the city would, within three months, reduce the water-rents in accordance with city rates. City Councils refused to make the reduction. The districts therefore united and built their water-works on the Schuylkill, at the foot of Thompson street. The reservoir was built upon Thompson and Master streets, between Twenty-fifth and Twenty -seventh streets, and opened for use in December, 1844.

The Delaware Water-Works are situated on the river Dela- ware, at the foot of Wood street, on the south bank of Gun-

WATER-WORKS. 53

ner's Eun, in the Eighteenth ward. They supply the Six- teenth, Seventeenth, Eighteenth, Nineteenth and Twentieth wards ; in 1874 these works furnished 1,568,518,765 gallons, or a daily average of 4,960,709 gallons.

The Delaware works are run by steam-power, a Worthing- ton beam and horizontal engine. ^

The Delaware Water-Works were built by the commissioners of the district of Kensington for their special supply. Previously the district had been supplied by the city, and after the construc- tion of the Spring Garden works by Spring Garden and Northern Liberties. In 1848 the legislature gave to Kensington authority to construct separate works, and pump the water from the Delaware River. The works were in operation in 1850. The agreement with the adjoining districts was abrogated June 23, 1851. Tlie reservoir is between Lehigh avenue and Somerset street and Sixth and Seventh streets.

The Belmont Water- Works are plain but appropriate brick buildings, on the west side of the Schuylkill, below the Bead- ing Railroad Belmont bridge; furnished, in 1874, 2,969,227,504 gallons, a daily average of 5,226,008 gallons. With the pres- ent pumping-power, there is a capacity of 18,000,000 gallons per day of twenty-four hours.

The Belmont works are run by steam-power, three Worth - ington engines.

The Belmont works replace the West Philadelphia Water- Works, which were located on the west bank of the Schuylkill, opposite Lemon Hill, the site being at present within the boundary of the Zoological Garden. The construction of West Philadelphia works was authorized by act of May 1, 1852, and they were in operation by the eud of 1853. The stand-pipe south-west of these works, still a conspicuous object, being south of Zoological Garden, was finished October 1, 1853. The Twenty-fourth ward works were abandoned in October, 1870, at which time the Belmont works were started. The Belmont reservoir is at George's Hill, Fairmount Park. It is also to be connected with the reservoir in East Fairmount Park.

The Roxborough Water- Works are on the east bank of the river Schuylkill above Manayunk, on the line of the Philadel- ])hia and Norristown Bailroad. The reservoir is at the inter-

54 WATER- WOEKS FOUNTAINS.

section of Ann and Isabella streets, west of Greentree lane. There is also a reservoir at Mount Airy. These works sup- plied, in 1874, 720,165,810 gallons, a daily average of 2,281,287 gallons.

The Roxborough works were finished December 21, 1870, at which time pumping was commenced. The works are run by steam-power, one Cornish and one Worthington engine. The Germantown and Chestnut Hill works, originally constructed by a private corporation, were connected with Eoxborough, in conse- quence of which the Chestnut Hill and Germantown works were abandoned as pumping-stations, September 30, 1872. The Eoxbor- ough works send their water to Chestnut Hill and Germantown in two great mains, which cross the Wissahickon in Fairmount Park. The aqueduct is far above the Park roadway, and is a peculiar and graceful structure usually called the " Pipe-bridge."

The total amount of water furnished in the various works in 1874 was as follows :

Fairmount ... 7,582,023,422 gallons. Daily average, 21,504,376

Delaware 1,558,518,765

Schuylkill.... 1,636,505,220

Belmont 2,969,227,504

Roxborough.. 720,165,810

Total 14,533,425.097

4,960,709 5,226;008 8,138,990 2,281,287 42,111,730

The total amount of water-pipe laid in the city up to the beginning of the year 1875 was 628 miles. The united water- works of the city furnished, in 1874, with water 118,414 dwelling-houses, in which there were 48,610 bath-rooms sup- plied with hot and cold water and shower-baths, etc., a greater number of such accommodations than can be found in any other city in the world.

PUBLIC DRINKING-FOUNTAINS. A proper regard for the health of the city and comfort of its citizens has led to the establishment of public drinking- fountains in many sections of the city. This has been done through the active agency of the Philadelphia Fountain Society, under whose auspices have been erected sixty-one fountains, many of them specimens of artistic taste; in addi-

FOUNTAINS DK AINAGE FIRES .

55

tion, the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals have erected seven fountains. Some of these have been built at the cost of private individuals, and are conspicuous orna- ments to the city. The constant use made of these fountains by both man and beast is sufficient evidence of their appre- ciation. They are kept in perfect order by a fand appropriated

for the purpose.

DRAINAGE.

Philadelphia is admirably situated for effective drainage,

having a large and rapid stream on each side of the city.

The streets, running at right angles, present every facility for

rapidly carrying off any surplus of water. The present system

of sewage is conveyed in 136 miles of culverts, dimensions as

follows :

Sewers 3 feet in diaraeter, or less, about 100 miles. ii 4 u " " " 13 "

u 5 u " " " 3^ "

u Q a n '< " 5 "

a y a <' " " 1^ "

i( Q u a a " X "

u g ct u (I " 3 «

a XO " " " " 3 "

(( -,-, II u u II X "

"12 " " and more, " 4i "

Total, " 135i " Total to January 1, 1876, say " 1361 "

FIRES. Philadelphia has been remarkably free from extraordinarily destructive fires for many years. This is due in a great meas- ure to the use of brick and stone as building material and the admirable management of the Fire Department, under the control of a chief and five assistants, with a total force of 389 men and 123 horses, which are held always in readiness to attend to the first note of alarm. The steam fire-engines are kept ready to be fired up at a moment and horses are ready to harness, so that in the shortest possible time they can be on their way to the scene of action. There are in all thirty-two com- panies, which, in January, 1875, were accommodated at thir- teen fire-stations. They had in their possession twenty-seven

56 FIRE DEPARTMENT POLICE.

steam fire-engines, five special steam fire-engines, four hand fire-engines and hose-carriages, five hook-and-ladder tracks, six fuel-wagons, and 49,000 feet of rubber and linen hose. Through the efficient agency of the Police and Fire Alarm Telegraph and the active efibrts of the firemen, the report of the department indicates a falling off in losses for one year of $183,792. The total number of fires in 1874 was 592, with an estimated loss of $754,688, covered by insurances of $4,184,772.

The number of fire-plugs in the city January 1, 1875, was 5119. The number of fire-alarm telegraph signal-boxes at the same time was 200.

POLICE.

This department, as at present organized, is controlled by the Mayor as executive, a Chief of Police, a Fire Marshal, four captains, twenty-seven lieutenants, fifty sergeants, eight detectives, twenty-five turnkeys and 1200 patrolmen. This force is assigned to a Central Station and twenty-four Police Districts. The Central Station is located at the City Hall, S. W. corner of Fifth and Chestnut streets. In case of riot the entire force can be collected with great celerity by the use of the police-telegraph and the city railroads. Strangers desir- ing information will find the police of Philadelphia uniformly courteous and obliging. Their uniform is dark-blue, with gilt buttons, and during the day they may be found stationed in the principal streets at short distances apart. In each dis- trict there is a Police Magistrate, before whom cases can be brought for immediate settlement, or application can be made directly to the Mayor's office in the City Hall. There is an addi- tional force known as the Eiver and Harbor Police, having control of the water-fronts of the city. This force is composed of a lieutenant and twenty-four men, with the aid of two steam tugboats. By the use of the police-telegraph during the year 1873, 807 missing adults were returned to their friends, 2363 lost children found, 360 lost or stolen vehicles returned, and 363 fires reported ; total number of messages reported,

POLICE STATION-HOUSES. ^7

112,138. There is a special-police guard in charge of Fair- mount Park, under the control of the Park Commission. This body of men are uniformed in gray, and are recognized as thoroughly serviceable and trustworthy.

The head-quarters of the city police is at City Hall or Cen- tral Station, S. W. corner of Fifth and Chestnut streets. The general police establishment and offices are as follows :

Chief of Police, Fifth and Chestnut streets.

Detective Department, Fifth and Chestnut streets.

Fire Marshal, Fifth and Chestnut streets.

Reserve Corps, Fifth and Chestnut streets.

Captains of Police, First District, at station-house of Ninth District, Lombard street between Seventh and Eighth streets.

Second District, at station-house of Eighth District, But- tonwood street between Tenth and Eleventh streets.^

Third District, at station-house of Tenth District, N. E. corner of Front and Master streets.

Fourth District, at station-house of Twenty-second District, corner of Lehigh and Park avenues.

District Station-Houses, under Charge of Lieutenants

of Police.

1. Fitzwater street, between Nineteenth and Twentieth

streets.

2. Second street, between Queen and Christian streets (old

Southwark Hall).

3. Union street, between Third and Fourth streets.

4. Fifth street, between Eace and Vine streets.

5. Fifteenth street, between Walnut and Locust streets.

6. Eleventh street, between Eace and Vine streets.

7. St. John street, between Buttonwood and Green streets.

8. Buttonwood street, between Tenth and Eleventh streets.

9. N. W. corner of Twenty-third and Brown streets.

10. N. W. corner of Front and Master streets (old Kensing-

ton Hall).

11. Girard avenue, above Otis street.

12. N. E. corner of Tenth and Thompson streets.

58 STATION-HOUSES MAGISTRATES.

13. Main street, Manayunk.

14. Germantown Hall, Germantown.

15. Main and Euan streets, Frankford.

16. S. W. corner of Lancaster pike and Thirty-ninth, street.

17. Taylor street, below Passyunk road.

18. Trenton avenue and Dauphin street.

19. Lombard street, between Seventh and Eighth streets.

20. Filbert street, between Fifteenth and Sixteenth streets.

21. Darby road and Thirty-eighth street.

22. Lehigh avenue and Park avenue.

23. Jefferson street, between Twentieth and Twenty-first

streets.

24. Belgrade and Clearfield streets. Delaware Harbor, Front and Noble streets. Schuylkill Harbor, Sansom street wharf, Schuylkill.

Powers of commitment upon criminal charges are granted to the Eecorder of the city and magistrates and aldermen. The police station-houses are attended daily at an early morning hour by magistrates to hear such cases as have arisen by reason of arrests, etc., during the night. The mag- istrates have power to bind over to keep the peace, to answer at the criminal court with or without bail, according to the nature of the alleged offence.

The offices of committing magistrates are as follows :

Eecorder of the city, opposite Independence Hall, Chestnut street between Fifth and Sixth streets, north side.

Central Station, City Hall, Mayor's office, S. W. corner Fifth and Chestnut streets.

MAGISTRATES' COURTS. No. 1. Jesse S. Bonsall, 1351 Passyunk avenue.

2. Wm. B. Collins, 1936 Christian street.

3. Andrew Alexander, Sr., 634 Washington avenue.

4. T. Sprole Leisenring, 704 S. Fourth street.

5. Wm. H. List, 144 S. Sixth street.

6. Hugh Franklin Kennedy, 521 Chestnut street.

7. Jobn McClintock, 1436 Lombard street.

MAGISTRATES GAS-LIGHTING.

59

No. 8. Eobert E. Smith, 114 S. Seventh street. 9. Wm. A. Thorp, 1342 Arch street.

10. John F. Pole, 118 N. Seventh street.

11. Wilson Kerr, 538 N. Third street.

12. Ezra Lukens, 835 Callowhill street.

13. Charles E. Pancoast, 1907 Callowhill street.

14. John Devlin, 1351 N. Second street.

15. Luke V. Sutphin, 419 E. Girard avenue.

16. Stuart Field, 2052 N. Fifth street.

17. Henry Smith, S. W. corner Otis street and Frankford

avenue.

18. Benton O. Severn, 1017 Oxford street.

19. David Hanley Stone, 1836 Eidge avenue.

20. Alfred Snyder, 4415 Main street, Manayunk.

21. Thaddeus Stearne, 4833 Frankford avenue.

22. Geo. E. Krickbaum, N. W. corner Germantown and

Chelten avenues.

23. Thomas H. Clarke, 4091 Lancaster avenue.

24. Thomas Eandall, 2920 Market street.

Criminal cases are tried and disposed of by the courts of Quarter Sessions and Oyer and Terminer, which are presided over by judges of the four courts of Common Pleas, serving in rotation. The courts are held in Quarter Sessions court building, east side of Sixth street, adjoining the old court- house building, which fronts on Chestnut street, and occa- sionally in the old Quarter Sessions court-room, in that building, south room, first floor, with entrance from Independ- ence Square.

GAS-LIGHTING.

Philadelphia is a well-lighted city, and the smallest houses are supplied with gas. The quantity manufactured by the city works during the year 1874 was 1,766,268,000 cubic feet, an"increase over the year 1873 of 117,681,000 cubic feet. The largest consumption in any twenty-four hours was on the night of the 24th of December, 1874, amounting to 7,826,000 cubic feet, being an increase over the largest consumption of

60 GAS-WORKS.

previous year of 787,000 cubic feet. The Northern Liberties Gas-Works made, in 1874, 79,019,800 cubic feet. Total gas manufacture, 1,845,287,800 cubic feet. The street mains laid during the year 1874 by the city works were 36,262 feet, making, with the Northern Liberties Gas Company's mains (97,717 feet), the entire length of main gas-pipes 6302- miles. The whole number of public lamps is 9905, of which 468 are supplied by Northern Liberties Gas-Works, and the average illuminating power 16.38 candles. The total number of con- sumers from the city works is 81,712 ; Northern Liberties works, 4703 ; total, 86,415 ; of private lights, city, 1,124,205 ; Northern Liberties, 22,465 ; total, 1,146,670, and of public lights, 9905.

The manufacturing gas-works are the City, Point Breeze and Spring Garden and Frankford, on Second street, all of which are owned by the city corporation, and the Northern Liberties Gas-Works, owned by a private corporation.

The Ninth Ward or City works are upon the north side of Market street, extending from Twenty-second street to the Schuylkill Eiver, immediately adjoining the Market street bridge. They comprise retort-houses, purifying-houses, meter- rooms, lime-kilns, coal-sheds and gas-holders, which latter are of the largest size.

The first gas for illuminating purposes made in the United States was manufactured by Michael Ambroise & Co., Italian fire-workers and artists, who gave exhibitions of figures of temples, Masonic de- vices, etc., at their ami^hitheatre, Arch street between Eighth and Ninth streets. These pieces, they said, were produced by " inflam- mable air with the assistance of light." They were exhibited in August, 1796. In 1803 one J. C. Henfrey proposed to illuminate the city by gas-lights burned in high towers, but City Councils gave him no encouragement. In 1815 Councils were petitioned by James McMurtrieto introduce gas-lighting, but no definite action was taken. Shortly afterward, in 1817, Dr. Charles Kugler succeeded in manu- facturing illuminating gas, which was first introduced to public attention by its use at the Philadelphia Museum, then exhibiting at the State-house or Independence Hall, where it was lighted on gala- days and on one or two evenings of a week. The second Masonic Hall, on Chestnut street, between Seventh and Eighth streets, rebuilt

GAS-WORKS.

61

in 1820, had gas-works connected with it in which the carburetted hydrogen gas nsed was prepared from tar. For many years this hall and the Gas-light tavern on Second street, near Walnut street, wei;e the only buildings in the city in which gas was used. On the 12th of March, 1835, the Philadelphia Gas Company was authorized by ordinance of Councils. It had a capital stock of $125,000. The city reserved a right to purchase the works from the shareholders at any time. The works on Market street were first put in operation on the 8th of February, 1836. Only two stores were prepared to burn it, and the whole number of applications at that time were for nineteen private and fortv-six public burners. July 1, 1841, the city bought out the stockholders for $173,000, and took possession of the works by the intervention of a board of trustees. The City works have been increased in capacity frequently since that time, and are very complete.

The Twenty-sixth Ward or Point Breeze works are situate upon the east bank of the Schuylkill Elver, being intersected by Passyunk road. These works are much more extensive than those at Market street, and are believed to be the largest gas-works in the world. The property originally was twenty acres in extent, but additions have been made to it in order to accommodate the public. These works were first put in operation on the 13th of December, 1854. They are connected directly with the Market street works. The great telescopic gas-holder here is of 160 feet diameter and 95 feet high.

The Fifteenth Ward or Spring Garden works are situate on Callowhill street, opposite the intersection of Twenty-fifth street, with a front on the Schuylkill Eiver. These works were erected by authority of an ordinance of the commissioners of Spring Garden for the supply of houses in the district, passed September 7, 1846. The works were so far completed as to be able to supply gas near the end of the succeeding year. They were considered finished in the spring of 1851, and went into full operation April 1 of that year.

The Twenty -first Ward or Frankford works are near Frank- ford village, and supply light in that section of the city.

The Northern Liberties Gas-Works are situate on Laurel street, near Frankford road, at the intersection of Gunner's Run. They were established by authority of an ordinance 6

62 GAS-WORKS.

passed by the commissioners of the district of the Northern Liberties, March 15, 1838. On April 1, 1844, the stockhold- ers were incorporated as ''The Northern Liberties Gas Com- pany," with a capital stock of $200,000. This company still conducts the gas manufacture and supplies portions of the old district of Northern Liberties and part of Kensington.

CHAPTEE II.

HOTELS.— BOARDING- AND LODGING-HOUSES.— BEST A URANTS.

PHILADELPHIA is called the " City of Homes," and the hospitality of its citizens has rendered it unnecessary that there should be more than the present extensive hotel accom- modation, a majority of its visitors being received by their friends in private houses. Such hotels as now exist and are being erected will be found sufficient to meet the needs of strangers, a large number of them being specially adapted for the rural population of the vicinity. The first and best hotel in the city at this time is the well-known

Continental Hotel, located in the business part of the city, on the south-east corner of Chestnut and Ninth streets, and of easy access by street railway from all of the railroad sta- tions. This building is six stories in height on the two streets referred to, and eight stories in the rear, on Sansom street, and covers 41,536 feet of ground. The principal story is sus- tained by richly ornamented cast-iron piers; the first floor, level with the street, which is used by the hotel, occupies 24,620 feet of the whole area.

The total number of rooms in the Continental is 700, with accommodations for 1000 guests. Arrangements are now contemplated for such an extension of the premises as will admit of lodging 1200 persons. The charges of the Conti- nental are $4.50 per day, including lodging and four meals per day, if desired.

The Continental Hotel occupies the site of two famous buildings in the memory of citizens of the last generation. The Philadelphia Museum, which occupied the southern portion of the lot on Sansom

63

64 HOTELS^ ETC.

street, was erected by a company for the purpose of holding the great assortment of natural curiosities collected by Charles Wilson Peale and his sons during the American Eevolution and subsequently. The first story of the museum building contained the Chinese collec- tion of Nathan Dunn. The museum building, afterward generally known as the Chinese Museum, was built in 1838. In time both museums failed to be profitable as exhibitions, and the collections were sold. The Chinese Museum then, by reason of its great size, became a favorite place for town-meetings, concerts, balls, lectures and exhibitions. Zachary Taylor was nominated for the presidency there by the national Whig convention of 1848. North of the museum, upon the Chestnut street front, Cooke, an English eques- trian, erected a circus, which was opened to the public Aug. 28, 1837.' The building subsequently became the National Theatre, under management of William E. Burton, the eminent comedian; Welch and Lent and Raymond and Waring occupied it for some years as an amphitheatre. The museum and circus were both destroyed, with much adjoining property, by fire July 5, 1854. About 1858 the lot was secured by the Continental Hotel Company, and the hotel opened for the reception of guests February 16, 1860.

The Girard House is situated directly opposite the Conti- nental, on the north side of Chestnut street. This hotel has been completely fitted up and refurnished in tlie most ap- proved style. It is now being largely extended, with the view of accommodating not less than 1000 guests. The charges per day at this hotel are $3.50 ; it possesses all the conveniences of a first-class hotel and every facility for travellers from the various railroad stations.

The Girard House occupies the site of the Fisher and Leaming mansion. It was built in 1850-52, and opened in the latter year. To the enterprise of Geo. W. Edwards and J. G. Edwards, who believed that at the time the hotel accommodations of the city were inadequate for the public necessities, the erection of the Girard House is to be attributed. The architect was John McArthur, Jr., who also was architect of the Continental and La Pierre House.

The La Pierre House is located on Broad street, near Chest- nut street, in the immediate vicinity of the Academy of Music, the Union League Club and Public Buildings, and on one of the finest avenues in Philadelphia. This hotel is specially adapted for families, the present number of rooms

HOTELS, ETC. 65

being 160, with accommodations for 250 persons ; it is proposed to enlarge it to double its present capacity ; charges, $3.50 per day.

Geo. W. and J. G. Edwards built the La Pierre House, and the work was going on at the same time that the Girard House was being built under their direction. The hotel was opened for guests in October, 1853.

The Colonnade Hotel, S, W. corner of Chestnut and Fif- teenth streets, is easily reached by the street railways from all the stations ; it has every accommodation for guests, and at present has 200 rooms, with contemplated arrangements for large additions ; terms, $3.50 per day.

The Irving House, a well-known family hotel on Walnut street, between Ninth and Tenth streets, with 103 rooms and accommodations for 175 guests; terms, from $3 to $5 per day, according to rooms.

Guy's Hotel, corner of Seventh and Chestnut streets, is managed on the European plan, guests being furnished with rooms at from $1 to $3 per day, and meals served a la carM in the restaurant attached to the hotel.

The St Cloud Hotel is located on Arch street above Seventh street, convenient to the various railroads, and is specially frequented by merchants and business men ; it has accommodations for 450 persons, with 300 rooms ; charge per day, $3.

The Bingham House is on Market street, corner of Eleventh street, with 300 rooms and accommodations for 500 guests ; charges, $3 per day.

The Merchants' Hotel is located on North Fourth street, in the business section of the city, with 204 rooms ; can accom- modate 600 guests. Large additions are to be made the com- ing year. Charges per day, $3.

This hotel was built by a company of mercantile men in business in the immediate neighborhood, and especially for the accommoda- tion of merchants. It was the finest and largest hotel in the city when it was opened, in the year 1837.

The American Hotel, Chestnut street between Fifth and Sixth streets, is largely frequented by merchants and business 6-* E

66 HOTELS, ETC.

men. It is eligibly located in the immediate vicinity of Independence Hall; accommodations for 600 guests; terms,

$3 per day.

St. Stephen's Hotel, Chestnut street between Tenth and Eleventh streets, has been recently refitted and newly for- nished ; can accommodate 300 guests ; terms, $3 per day.

Washington House, 709 Chestnut street, a plain, comfort- able and convenient hotel, can accommodate 350 guests.

The Grand Central, Market street, opposite Pennsylvania Eailroad dep6t, near Thirty-second street. Building of mar- ble; has accommodations for 700 guests.

ALPHABETICAL. INDEX TO HOTELS IN PHILADELPHIA.

Alleghany House, 812 Market street.

Allen's, 1220 Market street.

American, 517 Chestnut street.

Arch Street House, 1 Arch street.

Bald Eagle, 414 North Third street.

Barley Sheaf, 257 North Third street.

Beitler's, 1619 Market street.

Bingham House, corner of Market and Eleventh streets.

Bird's, corner of Broad and Callowhill streets.

Black Bear, 425 North Third street.

Black Horse, 252 North Second street.

Brady, 242 North Eighth street.

Brennan, 728 Filbert street.

Bucks County, 1917 Market street.

Bull's Head, 1035 Market street.

Bull's Head, 926 North Front street.

Bull's Head, 3734 Market street.

Central, 623 Arch street.

Central Avenue, 831 Market street.

Chestnut Hill, Main street, near Hartwell avenue, Chestnut

Hill.

Clarendon, 115 South Eighth street.

Clinton, 1608 Eidge avenue.

Colonnade, Chestnut street, corner of Fifteenth street.

HOTELS, ETC. 67

Columbia^ 216 North Second street.

Columbia, 111 North Broad street.

Commercial, 826 Market street.

Continental, Chestnut street, corner of Ninth street.

Davis', 6 South Delaware avenue.

Diamond Street, Diamond between Sixteenth and Seven- teenth streets.

Eagle, Main street and Highland avenue, Chestnut Hill.

Eagle, 227 North Third street.

Edwards', S. W. corner of Broad and Walnut streets.

European, 315 Arch street.

Farmers and Mechanics', 1808 Eidge avenue.

Germania, 2330 Market street.

Given's, 1220 Market street.

Girard, Ninth and Chestnut streets.

Globe, Elm and Belmont avenues.

Golden Fleece, 310 Cherry street.

Grand Central, Market and Thirty-second streets. ' Grand Union, Eleventh and Somerset streets.

Great Western, 1311 Market street.

Guy's, corner of Seventh and Chestnut streets. , Hay-Market, 1601 North Seventh street.

Hotel Aubry, Walnut and Thirty-third streets.

Howard, 2101 Chestnut street.

Howard, 703 Chestnut street.

Irving, 917 Walnut street.

Johnson's, 1115 Market street.

Lancaster Pike, 4412 Lancaster avenue.

La Pierre, Broad and Chestnut streets.

Lincoln, corner of Fourth and Wood streets.

Mansion, 619 Arch street.

Manufacturers', 310 Cherry street.

Markoe, 919 Chestnut street.

Mercantile, 23 South Tenth street.

Merchants', 42 North Fourth street.

Merchants' House, 415 North Third street.

Montgomery, corner of Sixth and Willow streets.

^8 HOTELS, ETC.

Mount Vernon, 119 North Second street. National, 1710 Market street. New Market, 1619 Market street. New York House, 9 Walnut street.

Penn Manor, corner of Eighth and Spring Garden streets. ^ Pennsylvania, 417 South Second street.

Pennsylvania Farmer, 345 North Third street. Petry, N. W. corner of Broad and Walnut streets. Randolph, Spring Garden street, above Twenty-second. Randolph (Farmers'), 342 North Third street. Reading Railroad House, corner of Ninth and Spring Garden streets.

Red Lion, 472 North Second street. Ridge Avenue, Ridge avenue, below Girard avenue. Ridgeway, 1 Market street. Robin Hood, corner of Front and Otis streets. St. Charles, 54 North Third street. St. Cloud, 709 Arch street. St. Elmo, 319 Arch street. St. James, 310 Race street. St. Stephen's, 1018 Chestnut street. Springmann, Walnut street, above Seventh street. Smedley, 1227 Filbert street. Tiger, 321 Vine street. Transcontinental, Belmont avenue.

United States, north-west corner of Forty-second and Co- lumbia avenue.

Washington, 711 Chestnut street. Weik's, Belmont avenue and Eadline street. Walnut Street, Walnut and Thirty-third streets. White Bear, corner of Fifth and Race streets. White Horse, 316 North Third street. White Horse, 210 Pine street. William Penn, 831 Market street. Zeiss', 820 Walnut street.

Boarding-Houses.— These may be found in every section ol the city, with prices, varying as to locality, from $5 to $15 per

HOTELS, ETC.

69

week for a single person. The better class of boarding- houses are located on Broad, Walnut, upper part of Chestnut, Arch and Spruce streets. Board comprises breakfast with meats, dinner and tea. An examination of the daily journals of the city will be the best means to adopt for the purpose of securing a boarding-place, as many of them are regularly advertised.

Lodgings may also be obtained in the same manner— by consulting advertisements— at very reasonable prices. The prices vary from $3 to $20 per week. Unfurnished apart- ments or flats are not common in Philadelphia, but may be obtained on application to some one of the numerous house- agents in the city.

The Centennial Lodging-House Agency, limited, office, 1010 Walnut street, has arranged with thousands of private house- keepers to take lodgers and supply them with meals. This company is under control of leading officers of all the great railroad companies.

Restaurants. There are many good restaurants, and meals are furnished at reasonable prices by the day, week or month, or a la carU, The oyster-houses of Philadelphia are a speci- alty, and in season the delicious bivalves may be had stewed, panned, fried, deviled or raw, served in perfection.

The caterers of Philadelphia have become historic for their artist-like serving of wild game, terrapin, chicken-salad, reed- birds, chicken-croquettes and soft crabs. They will supply meals for those occupying furnished apartments, and are ready to supply dinner- and supper-parties of any size. In ice-creams, confectionery and fruit-ices this city has no superior, not even in Europe, and it is suggested to all strangers that they test the matter for their own gratification.

CENTENNIAL HOTELS.

The following have been specially constructed for use dur- ing the Centennial Exhibition. They are arranged with every convenience, and are very capacious :

The Globe Hotel, Belmont avenue, near Elm avenue, has

70 HOTELS RESTAURANTS.

accommodations for over 1200 guests. Conducted on the European style. Charges per room $2 and upward.

The Transcontinental Hotel, brick building, south-east corner of Belmont avenue and Elm avenue. To be kept on the same plan and terms as the Continental Hotel, by Mr. Kingsley, proprietor of the latter.

Hotel Aubry. South side of Walnut from Thirty-third to Thirty-fourth street; has 300 rooms, and will accommodate

450 guests.

The United States Hotel, north-west corner of Forty-sec- ond street and Columbia avenue. Brick building, three stories high ; contains 300 rooms, and will accommodate 500 persons.

The Diamond Street Hotel, Diamond between Sixteenth and Seventeenth streets ; has 240 rooms, and will accommo- date 350 persons.

Weik's Hotel, corner of Belmont avenue and Eadline street. Wooden one-story building.

The Grand Union Hotel, Eleventh and Somerset streets. Convenient to the junction of the connecting railroad to New York and the Reading Railroad. Has 850 rooms, and will accommodate 1300 persons.

RESTAURANTS.

Doyle's Club House. Belmont avenue.

Tischner's. Belmont avenue, near Elm avenue.

Aronheimer's. Elm avenue and Forty-first street.

Within the Centennial grounds are six restaurants— Lau- ber's (German); Le Trois Fr^res Proven§aux, Goyard's (French); Southern, Mercer's; American, Tobias & Heil- brun's ; Sudreaux's and one other. Proskauer's well-known establishment at Belmont is also available.

CHAPTEE III. 3IARKETS.

THE first markets were conducted, after the English fash- ion, in spaces on the wharves and in the middle of streets. Up to 1709 the principal market-place was in High or Market street, movable booths and stalls being erected. In 1709 the first permanent market-house was authorized, and it was built adjoining the court-house, in the middle of the High street and west of Second, standing upon open pillars and roofed. From time to time, other covered market-buildings Avere added until they extended from the Delaware landing to Eighth street in an unbroken line, which was taken up again at Schuylkill Eighth, now Fifteenth street, and carried to Schuylkill Sixth, now Seventeenth street. Other market- houses on the same plan were afterward built. In November and December, 1859, Market street was relieved of these build- ings, and they were gradually torn down. Other parts of the city were accommodated with market-houses of the same style, some of which still exist. The plan of large and separate build- ings for market-houses came into vogue about 1854, when large buildings were erected for that purpose, on the east side of Broad street below Eace street, now the City Armory, and on Eace street, S. W. corner of Janjper street, now head-quarters of the fire department. The Western Market, N. E. corner of Sixteenth and Market streets, was opened April 19, 1859. Since that period many spacious market-house buildings, per- fectly ventilated and arranged, large, solid and costly, have been erected in various parts of the city, which are generally owned by incorporated companies.

71

72 MARKETS.

The principal corporation maTket-house buildings are as follows :

Eastern, S. E. corner of Fifth and Merchant streets, below Market street; a very large brick building with stalls for meats, vegetables, farmers' produce, fresh oysters, etc.

Farmers', north side of Market street, between Eleventh and Twelfth, extending to Filbert street ; a very large and imposing structure, erected by farmers of Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and other counties. This is the finest market structure in the city, and well worth a visit by strangers.

Franklin, adjoining, at N. E. corner of Twelfth street, ex- tending to Filbert street. Originally this market was on the west side of Tenth street, below Market street. The building is now occupied by the Mercantile Library Company. The present building was erected about the time when the Farmers' Market was constructed.

Central, north side of Market street, between Sixteenth and Seventeenth streets, extending in L shape through, on the northern side, to Seventeenth street. The company originally constructed the building on N. E. corner of Sixteenth and Market streets, now occupied as a freight dep8t by Pennsyl- vania Railroad Company.

South -Western, S. E, corner of Nineteenth and Market streets ; a large brick building extending to Barker street.

Farmers' Western, N. W. corner of Twenty-first and Market streets.

Fairmount, a spacious building, S. W. corner of Twenty- second and Spring Garden streets, extending to Eeading Baikoad.

Delaware Avenue, two buildings, extending from Delaware avenue to Front street, between Spruce and Dock streets. This is the great d6p5t for Jersey produce, oysters and fish.

Union, west side of Second street, above Callowhill street.

Lincoln, S. E. corner of Broad and Fairmount avenue; large and spacious, with a hall in second story for public meetings, concerts, etc.

MARKETS.

73

South Eleventh Street, near Christian street.

Farmers and Butchers', Christian street, near Eighth street.

Germania, S. E. corner of Seventeenth and Poplar streets; with a large hall for public purposes in second story.

Kater, south side of South street, between Fifteenth and Sixteenth streets.

Centennial, Twenty-third and South streets.

Callowhill Street, south side, extending from Sixteenth street to Seventeenth street.

Kensington, Kensington avenue, near Fifth and Sixth (dummy) Passenger Eailway d6p6t.

Federal, S. E. corner of Seventeenth and Federal streets. This building has a large hall in second story for meetings, etc.

Farmers' West Philadelphia, Market and Thirty-sixth streets.

West Philadelphia, Market street, north side, between Fortieth and Forty-first streets.

Mantua, Haverford street, N. E. corner of Thirty-sixth street, West Philadelphia.

Norris, Norris street, near North Pennsylvania Eailroad depot.

Oxford, N. E. corner of Twentieth and Oxford streets.

Columbia Avenue, N. W. corner of Twelfth street. Frankford, Euan street, between Paul and Main streets, Frankford, Twenty -third ward.

Germantown, Germantown avenue, between School and Queen streets.

Ridge Avenue, Farmers', below Girard avenue.

Northern Liberties, Delaware avenue and Callowhill street.

Street Markets belong-ing to the City Corporation.

South Second Street, middle of Second street, from Pine to South street.

North Second Street, or Northern Liberties, North Second street, from Fairmount avenue to Poplar street.

Callowhill Street, Callowhill street, from Fourth to Seventh streets.

7

74

MARKETS.

Spring Garden Street, Spring Garden street, from Marshall to Twelfth street.

Girard Avenue, east from Hancock street to Third street, from Lawrence street to Eighth street, from Tenth street to Twelfth street.

Bainbridge Street, from Third street to Fifth street.

Wharton, Moyamensing road, from Prime street to Whar- ton street.

CHAPTEE IV. CITY TRAVEL.-FERRIES.— RIVER 81EA3IB0ATS.

THERE is no city in the world that possesses the facilities of cheap transportation with which Philadelphia is favored. A system of street railroads has been adopted which cross or pass through all of the principal streets.

If the destination of the passenger is on or near the line of the railway, a single fare or ticket will carry him to it. If it is upon a cross street distant from the street on which he is travelling, he may frequently reach it by a railway running upon the cross street or upon the next parallel street on either side. In some cases this will cost him two fares or two tickets. But there are several of the roads crossing each other which will sell to any passenger an exchange ticket— that is, a ticket which will carry him over a cross road— so that a passenger, by securing an exchange ticket, can reach almost any given point with great convenience and rapidity and at a moderate expense. The single rate of fare charged on all the street lines is seven cents, small children four cents each. But tickets good on any road for a single ride are sold in pack- ages of four for twenty-five cents. Where an exchange ticket is sold on any other line, an additional charge of two cents is made, so that for nine cents one may travel for miles in any direction. On some of the roads night lines commence to run about midnight. Charge on night lines, ten cents per pas- senger. No exchange tickets, nor reduced price for children. There are two modes of taking fare in these cars, one by a conductor, who notiiies each passenger in passing through the car, and the other by means of a box, in which the passenger must deposit the exact fare, the conductor remaining at the entrance and giving the proper change or tickets as may be

desired.

75

76 PASSENGER RAILWAYS.

On the roads which have several routes, transfer passes are given at some of the intersections, which carry the passenger in other cars of the same company on the branch route. To furnish the necessary information to strangers, a complete list is given of all the street railroads, with the color of cars, and the color of lights used at night.

Union Passenger Railway Company. Paek and Navy Yard branch.— Yellow car, red light. Going east and south From Park entrance down Brown to Twenty-third, to Wal- lace, to Franklin, to Eace, to Seventh, to Federal, to Front, to Wharton. Going north and west Along Wharton to Ninth, to Spring Garden, to Twenty-third, to Park entrance.

EiCHMOND AND Baltimore Eailroad d^pot branch. Green car, green light. Going south and west From dep6t, Norris and Thompson streets, down Thompson to Marlbor- ough, to Belgrade, to Frankford avenue, to Master, to Franklin, to Eace, to Seventh, to Passyunk avenue, to Ellsworth, to Broad and up to Baltimore depot. Going north and east Up Broad to Christian, to Ninth, to Spring Garden, near Germantown Eailroad depot, to Seventh, to Oxford, to Fourth, to Norris, passes North Pennsylvania Eailroad depot and Kensington Trenton Eailroad dep6t, to Memphis, to York, to Thomp- son, to dep6t, corner Norris.

Columbia avenue and Market street branch.— Eed car, orange light. Gowig south and east From depot. Twenty- third and Columbia avenue, down Columbia avenue to Frank- lin, to Eace, to Seventh, to Market, to Front. Going west and ,;^ori!^— Eeturn up Market to Ninth, to Spring Garden, near Germantown Eailroad dep6t, to Seventh, to Columbia avenue, to Twenty -third, to dep6t.

Spring Garden and Poplar street branch.— Eed (one- horse) car, red light. Going east— From Park entrance down Brown to Twenty-third, to Wallace, to Twenty-second, to Spring Garden, passes near Germantown Eailroad depot, to Seventh, to Poplar. Going tvest— Out Poplar to Twenty-ninth, to Park entrance.

Cedar street branch. Green car, green light. Going

PASSENGER RAILWAYS. ^ ^

nm-th—Fvom York up Cedar to Somerset, to Eichmond street. Going south— Retuin by same route.

Christian street branch— Yellow car, red light. Going north and west— From d6p5t, Seventh and McKean, to Ninth, to Ellsworth, to Twenty-third, to Christian. Going east and south— Down Christian to Seventh, to dep6t.

Jefferson street buai^cb..— Going east— Yiom dep6t. Twenty-third and Columbia avenue, along Columbia avenue to Twenty-fourth, to Jefferson, to Franklin, to Thompson, to Front, to Columbia avenue. Going west—V^ Columbia ave-" nue to Franklin, to Master, to Twenty-third, to dep6t.

Ridge Avenue Passenger Railway Company. Yellow car, red light. Going south and ms^— From d6p5t, Thirty-second and Eidge avenue, down Eidge avenue to Tenth, to Arch, to Second. Going west and 7iorth—Vp Arch to Ninth, to Eidge av., to dep6t. Manayunk branch.— Yellow car, yellow light; flag with a white star in centre. Going north— Yiom dep8t. Thirty- second and Eidge avenue, along Eidge avenue to Main street, to Green lane. Going south— netmn over same route.

Second and Third streets Passenger Railway Company. White cars, green light. Goi7ig south— Ymm depot, Frankford road below Lehigh avenue, to Jefferson street, up Jefferson to Second, down Second to Mifflin, up Mifflin to Third. Goiiig y^or//i— Up Third to Germantown avenue, to Oxford, to Front, up Front to Amber, to depdt.

Frankford branch.— White car, green light; in daytime red flag. Going north— Vip Frankford avenue to Paul street, to Arrott street. Eeturning down Main to Frankford avenue, to depot, below Lehigh avenue.

North Pennsylvania Eailro ad depot branch.— Green car, orange light. Going south— Vown Frankford avenue to Huntingdon street, to Coral, to Cumberland, to Emerald, to Dauphin, to Third, to Berks, passing North Pennsylvania Eaiboad d6p5t, to Second, to Dock. Going north— To Third, to Germantown avenue, to Oxford, to Third, to Berks, passing North Pennsylvania Eailroad d6p6t, to Second, to York, to Coral, to Cumberland, to Amber, to d6p6t. 7*

78 PASSENGER RAILWAYS.

Richmond branch. Red car, red light. Going south— Up Lehigh avenue to Richmond street, to Frankford avenue, to Manderson, to Beach, to Laurel, to Delaware avenue, to Fairmount avenue, to Second, to Dock, to Third. Going north Up Third to Brown, to Beach, to Manderson, to Frankford avenue, to Girard avenue, to Norris, to Richmond street, to Lehigh avenue, to depot, corner Edgemont street.

Bridesburg branch. White car, white light. Going north Up Lehigh avenue to Richmond street, to Bridge, to Washington. Going south Over same route to d6p5t.

Front street branch. White car, white light. Going south From Fairmount avenue, down New Market to Vine, to Front, to Chestnut, Going north Over same route.

Allegheny avenue branch. Yellow car, white light. Going north From Lehigh avenue up Richmond street to Allegheny avenue. Going south Return by same route.

Cumberland street branch. White car, white light. Going north From Richmond street up Cumberland to Am- ber. Going south Return by same route.

Frankford and Southwark Railway Company. Fifth and Sixth streets. Yellow car, red light. Going south From dep6t, Kensington avenue and Cumberland street, down Ken- sington avenue to Front, to Kensington-Trenton Railroad depot, to Berks, to North Pennsylvania Railroad depot, to Sixth to Jackson, to Fifth. Going north ^Up Fifth to Berks, passes North Pennsylvania and Kensington Railroad d6p&ts, to Front, to Kensington avenue, to d6p&t corner Cumberland.

Lehigh and Powell street branch. Green car, green light. Going south From dep6t up Kensington avenue to Lehigh avenue, to Sixth street, down Sixth to Powell, to Fifth. Going north Up Fifth to Lehigh avenue, to Ken- sington avenue, to d6p6t.

Frankford steam (dummy) branch. Going n&rth From Kensington avenue dep5t up Kensington avenue to Frankford road, to Arrott street dep5t. Going south Return over same route.

Germantown Passenger Railway Company. Fourth and

PASSENGER RAILWAYS.

79

Eighth streets. Yellow car, green light. Going south— Fvom dep6t, Eighth and Dauphin streets, down Dauphin to Ger- mantown avenue, to Fourth, to Dickinson, to Eighth. Going north— V^ Eighth to Columbia avenue, to Seventh, to Susque- hanna avenue, to d6p6t, Eighth and Dauphin.

Walnut steeet beanch.— Yellow car, green light. Go- ing south— B&me route from depot to Walnut, to Eighth. Going north Up Eighth to dep6t.

Geemantown beanch.— Yellow car, green light. Going north From Dauphin up Eighth to Germantown avenue, to Germantown. Going south Return by same route.

GiEAED AVEKUE BEANCH.— Yellow Car, red light. Going east—Fmm Thirty-first street along Girard avenue to Pal- mer, to Beach, to Shackamaxon. Going west— Yrom Shack- amaxon street along Girard avenue, crossing the bridge and extending to Elm avenue, near Exhibition building.

Citizens Passenger Railway Company. Tenth and Eleventh streets. Yellow car, green light. Going south— Fiom depot, Tenth street and Montgomery avenue, down Tenth to Eeed, to Eleventh. Going north— \J^ Eleventh to Diamond, to Tenth, to depot corner Montgomery avenue.

Mifflin steeet beanch. Yellow (one-horse) car, red light. Going south— Dovfn Tenth to Mifflin, to Twelfth. Go- ing north Up Twelfth to Wharton, to Tenth.

Empire Passenger Railway Company. Twelfth and Six- teenth streets. Yellow car, red light. Going south— Fmm dep5t, Twelfth street and Montgomery avenue, down Twelfth to Whar- ton, to Seventeenth, to Carpenter, to Sixteenth. Going north— Up Sixteenth to Montgomery avenue, to depot corner Twelfth. Thirteenth and Fifteenth streets Passenger Railway Com- pany. Columbia avenue beanch. Green car, green light. Going north— From Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore Railroad depot, at Broad street and Washington avenue, up Broad to Carpenter, to Fifteenth, to Master, to Ridge avenue, to Columbia avenue, to Thirteenth. Going south Down Thir- teenth, passing Reading Railroad depot at CallowUill street, to Carpenter, to Broad, to depot above Washington avenue.

80 PASSENGER RAILWAYS.

NoERis STEEET BKAJSTCH. Yellow Car, red light. Going north From Broad and Washington avenue to Carpenter, to Fifteenth, to Columbia avenue, to Broad, to Norris, to Thir- teenth. Going south Down Thirteenth to Carpenter, to Broad, to depot above Washington avenue.

North Broad street branch. Yellow (one-horse) car. red light. Going north From Norris up Broad to New York Eailroad Junction depot. Back over same route.

South Broad street branch. Yellow car, red light. Going south From Baltimore Railroad depSt, above Washing- ton avenue, down Broad, to Jackson. Return by same route.

Seventeenth and Nineteenth streets Passenger Railway Company. Yellow car, red light. Going south From depot, Nineteenth and Master, up Nineteenth to Norris, to Seven- teenth, to Carpenter, to Nineteenth. Going north Up Nine- teenth to dep6t.

Green and Coates Passenger Railway Company. Green car, red light. Going east and south From Fairmount avenue en- trance of Park down Fairmount avenue to Twenty-second, to Green, to Fourth, to Dickinson, to Eighth. Going north and west Up Eighth to Fairmount avenue, to the Park.

Walnut street branch. Going east and south From Park entrance via Fairmount avenue and Fourth street to Walnut, to Eighth. Going north and west From Walnut up Eighth to Fairmount avenue, and then west to Park entrance.

Delaware Eiver branch. Green (one-horse) car, red light. Going west From Green up Beach to Fairmount avenue, to Eighth. Going east Return down Fairmount avenue to Fourth, to Green, to Beach.

People's Passenger Railway Company. Callowhill street. Yellow car, orange light. Going west From Camden and At- lantic steamboat wharf, Vine street and Delaware River, along Vine to Fourth and York avenue, along York avenue to Callowhill, to Park entrance and bridge at Schuylkill River. Going east Along same route from Schuylkill River, to Front street, to Vine, to wharf.

Hestonvtile, Mantua and Fairmount Passenger Railroad.

PASSENGER RAILWAYS.

81

Yellow cars, red lights. Going east—Fvom d6p6t on Lancas- ter avenue and Somerset street, along Lancaster avenue to Haverford street, to Thirtieth, to Bridge street, over the bridge, lower deck, to Callowhill, to Hamilton, to Twenty-second, to Race, to Second, to Walnut, to Dock. Eeturning, going west, via Third, to Vine, to Twenty-third, to Spring Garden, over the bridge, upper deck, to Lancaster and Belmont avenues and the Exhibition buildings.

Zoological Gardens branch. Same route. From Spring Garden street north on Thirty-fifth to Pennsylvania Railroad bridge. Return over same route to Haverford and Spring Garden streets.

Hestonville branch.— Green car, red light. Going west —From dep6t, out Lancaster avenue to Fifty-second, Hes- tonville, and along Fifty-second to Elm avenue and Park at George's Hill. Going easi!— Return over same route.

Arch street branch.— Yellow car, green light. Going east— Fvom dep6t, Twenty-sixth and Callowhill streets, down Biddle street to Twenty-fifth, up Twenty-fifth to Spring Gar- den, down to Twentieth, to Arch, to Second. Going west-— Up Arch to Twenty-first street, to Callowhill, to depot.

West Philadelphia Passenger Railway Company. Market street. Yellow car, red light. Going east—FYom depot, Forty- first and Haverford streets, down Forty-first to Market, passes Pennsylvania Railroad depot at Thirty-first, and down Market to Front. Going west Return over same route.

Haddington branch.— Green car, white light. Going west— Out Haverford from Forty-first to Sixty-seventh. Go- ing east Return over same route.

Fairmount Park branch. Blue car. Going north From depot, Haverford and Forty-first streets, up Forty-first to Elm street, to main entrance. Going south On Elm ave- nue to Fortieth street, to Market, to Front, and returning to Forty-first, to d6p6t.

Philadelphia City Passenger Railway, via Chestnut and Walnut streets. Green cars, red lights. These cars, going east, leave the dep8t near Forty-second street on Chestnut,

F

82 PASSENGER RAILWAYS.

pass West Chester Railroad d6p6t at Thirty-first street, and go directly down Chestnut to Front street, and then through Front to Walnut street, and near Pennsylvania Eailroad freight d6p6t wharf. Going west along Walnut street to Twenty-second, returning to Chestnut street, and back to the depot, crossing all the streets from Second to Forty-first street. Branch Line to International Exhibition, Fairmount Park. Yellow cars, orange light. Same routes on Chestnut and Walnut streets. Turns northward at Thirty-second and Chestnut streets ; up Thirty -second, near Pennsylvania Rail- road dep6t, to Lancaster avenue, to Belmont avenue and Elm avenue. Returning by same streets to Chestnut, etc.

Branch Line to Darby. Red cars, white lights. Going y,est Same route on Walnut and Chestnut streets to Wood- land avenue, by the avenue and Darby road to Darby, Dela- ware county. Return same route. A single fare on this route carries the passenger to or from Forty-first street and Wood- land avenue. Fare to Darby, sixteen cents.

Branch Line to Mount Moriah Cemetery. Blue cars, white lights. Over same route to Mount Moriah lane and cemetery. Returning, same route. Fare to Mount Moriah, twelve cents.

Philadelphia and Gray's Ferry Railway Company— Spruce and Pine. White car, red light. Going east— From Gray's Ferry bridge, up Gray's Ferry road to Christian, down Chris- tian to Twenty-third, to dep6t near Spruce, to Third, to Wal- nut and Dock. Going west—Do^n Dock to Second, to Pine, to Twenty-third, to Gray's Ferry road, to the bridge.

Schuylkill River Fairmount Park branch.— 6^ow^ west and north— Ssime route on Pine to Twenty-third, north to Callowhill, to Twenty-fifth, to Green street Park entrance. Going south— Down Twenty-fifth to Hamilton, to Twenty- second, to Filbert, to Twenty-third, to Walnut, to Twenty- second, to Spruce and east to Exchange.

United States Arsenal branch.— D6p6t Twenty-third and Spruce streets. White car, red light. Boiite—&ame as Gray's Ferry line, as far as the Arsenal.

PASSENGER RAIIiWAYS. 83

Lombard and South streets Passenger Railway Company.

D6pot Twenty -fifth and South streets. Yellow car, red light. Going east Through depot, Twenty-fifth street and South street to Lombard, down Lombard to Front, to Dock, to Delaware avenue. Going west From Dock street and Delaware avenue up Dock to Front, to South, to depot at Twenty-fifth and South.

Passyunk aven^ue BEAis^CH. ^Eed car, red light. Going south From Fourth and Lombard, down Fourth to South, to Passyunk avenue, to Juniper, to Snyder avenue, to depot, west of Thirteenth. Going north Down Snyder avenue to Twelfth, to Dickinson, to Eighth, to Christian, to Fifth, to Lombard, to Fourth.

West End Passenger Railway Company. Centennial BEANCH. Going north and west From Baltimore avenue up Fortieth to Lancaster avenue, to Forty-first, to Elm avenue, around Fairmount Park to Belmont gate. Going east and south Eeturn by Elm avenue to Fortieth, to Lancaster ave- nue, to Thirty-eighth, to Woodland avenue.

Zoological Gardens branch. Going north From Thirty-ninth and Baltimore avenue along Baltimore avenue to Fortieth, to Locust, to Thirty-sixth, to Powelton avenue, to Thirty-fifth, to Zoological Garden. Going south On Thirty- fifth to Eadline street, to Thirty-third, to Walnut, to Thirty- sixth, to Locust, to Thirty-eighth, to Woodland avenue, to Baltimore avenue.

Manayunk and Roxborough Inclined Plane Passenger Rail- way Company. Route On Eidge avenue, from Barren Hill to Wissahickon station on Eeading Eailroad, and return.

Continental Passenger Railway Company. Going south From d6p6t, north-west corner of Twentieth and Montgomery avenue, down Twentieth to Eidge avenue, to South College avenue, to Corinthian avenue, to Parrish, to Twentieth, to Federal. Going north Federal to Eighteenth, to Francis, to Perkiomen, to Vineyard, to Eighteenth, to Montgomery ave- nue, to Twentieth.

Filbert and Sansom streets branch. Going east On Filbert street from Twentieth, to Seventh, south to Sansom. Going west Sansom from Seventh, to Eighteenth street.

84 FERRIES, ETC. CARRIAGES AND HACKS.

FERRIES AND RIVER STEAMBOATS ON THE DELAWARE. Ferries to New Jersey.

From upper side of Market street to Federal street, Camden.

From lower side of Market street to Market street, Camden.

From Vine street to Cooper's Point, Camden.

From South street, upper side, to Kaighn's Point, Camden.

From South street, lower side, to Gloucester.

From Shackamaxon street to Cooper's Point, Camden. River Steamboat Lines.

For up-river towns and Bristol and Burlington, from Chest- nut street wharf.

For Trenton and intermediate towns, from foot of Arch street.

For down-river towns and Chester and Wilmington, foot of Chestnut street.

For Chester, New Castle, Delaware City and Salem, foot of Arch street.

On the Schuylkill River. For Zoological Gardens, Belmont, Centennial grounds, Falls, Wissahickon and Manayunk, from wharf opposite Coates street entrance to the Park.

CARRIAGES AND HACKS.

The following rules and charges are authorized by the city government.

That the prices or rates of fare to be taken by or paid to the owners or drivers of hackney carriages, unless otherwise expressly and mutually agreed upon, shall be as follows, to wit:

For carrying one passenger any distance not exceeding one mile, the sum of seventy-five cents; two passengers, one dollar and twenty-five cents; and for every additional passenger, twenty-five cents.

For conveying one passenger any distance more than a mile, and not exceeding two miles, one dollar and a quarter ; two passengers, one dollar and seventy -five cents; and for every additional passenger, twenty-five cents.

CARRIAGES AND HACKS.

85

For carrying a passenger any distance over two miles, for any such additional mile or part of a mile, the sum of fifty cents in addition to the fare for the first two miles, and for every additional passenger, fifty cents.

For the use of a carriage from a public stand (commonly called hackney carriages) by the hour, with one or two passengers, for the purpose of going from place to place, and stopping as often as may be required, one dollar and a half per hour, and for every additional passenger, twenty-five cents. In all cases where the hiring of a hackney carriage is not at the time specified to be by the hour, it shall be deemed to be by the mile ; but in case the distance shall be more than four miles, the rate to be charged for each additional mile shall be fifteen cents for each passenger, as herein provided. In all cases a mile shall be taken, and construed to mean, twelve blocks of one hundred numbers on numbered streets.

Whenever any such carriage not engaged by the hour shall be detained by the passenger or passengers, the owner or driver shall be allowed at the rate of seventy-five cents per hour, in addition to the rates hereby established.

For children between five and fourteen years of age half price only is to be charged, and for children under five years of age no charge is to be made, if not more than one such child to each two grown persons.

Every driver or owner of a hackney carriage shall carry, transport and convey in and upon his carriage, in addition to the grown person or persons therein, one trunk, valise, saddle bag, carpet-bag, portmanteau or box, not exceeding one hun- dred pounds in weight, if requested to do so, without charge or compensation therefor ; but for every such trunk or other articles above named more than one for each passenger, he shall be entitled to demand and receive six cents.

There shall be placed within every hackney carriage, in a conspicuous place therein, at all times, a card which shall contain the registered number of such carriage, the name and residence of the owner thereof, and copies of the ninth, tenth and eleventh sections of the ordinance for regulation ef hacks, etc.

86 CAKRIAGES, EXPRESS AND TELEGRAPH^

That if any owner, driver or person having charge of ai:y such carriage shall a&k or demand any greater sum than he may be entitled to demand as herein set forth, he shall forfeit all' claim for compensation for the services for which such greater sum shall have been demanded ; and no owner, driver or person aforesaid shall offer for employment any carriage wherein the card mentioned in the tenth section of the or- dinance shall not be placed.

It is an offence for the driver or person having charge of a hackney carriage while unemployed at a stand to refuse to convey persons and their baggage if application is made for that purpose. The number of each carriage is required to be placed on the centre panel of each door, and upon the

lamps.

About twelve squares may be counted as a mile, and may be calculated as follows : From Chestnut street north to Girard avenue or south to Federal street is one mile. From the Dela- ware River to Twelfth street is one mile. From the Delaware to the Schuykill is two miles.

Hotel omnibuses and stages will be found at most of the railway stations, and the fare is less than in the hacks or carriages, generally fifty cents for each passenger. EXPRESS COMPANIES. One of the great enterprises of the country is the introduc- tion of express companies for the rapid forwarding of pack- ages, trunks, merchandise and bullion. There is no State in the Union but what enjoys the advantages of this rapid method of shipment. Offices of the Adams Express and the Central Express at 531 Chestnut street and Eleventh street near Mar- ket. Reading Railroad Express office, 624 Chestnut street. TELEGRAPH COMPANIES. Philadelphia Local Telegraph Company. This company will forward messages to any part of the city, the charge be- ing twenty cents for a message of not over ten words. The main office is 107 South Third street, but sub-offices may be found in aU sections of the city.

TELEGRAPH COMPANIES BAGGAGE. 87

The Western Union Telegraph Company and the Atlantic and Pacific Company are both in connection with all points on the American continent, and also by cable with all parts of the known world. Sub-offices may be found in all the principal hotels, where a tariff of charges may be obtained.

The American District Telegraph. This invaluable insti- tution has been largely adopted in Philadelphia. By the use of a small instrument like a clock, fixed up in stores, offices or dwellings, messengers are called from the nearest district office in a very short space of time, and will be ready for any duty with which they may be entrusted. If needed, a police- man appears at the call of the instrument. Should a con- flagration be threatened, another turn, and a fireman with his extinguisher is at hand ready for service. The corps of messenger boys employed by the District Telegraph Company are well instructed to act a& guides, interpreters and messengers ; prompt and active, they have become a public necessity. The charge for their use varies from ten cents upward, depending upon the distance to be travelled.

BAGGAGE. Travellers will find the present system of baggage express very convenient. Parties leaving the city can have their trunks and packages called for at their hotels or residences, and carried to railroad depots or steamboat wharves. The general system is this: notice being given at the express office or at a railroad general-ticket office (except the ticket offices at the railroad depots or points of starting), the baggage will be called for. If the traveller has purchased a ticket to his point of destination, and produces the ticket at the baggage express office, his baggage can be checked through to the place of his destination upon a single check. This check will be delivered by the express carriers when they receive the trunk or article to be sent, and upon payment of the ex- press charges. If the traveller is stopping at a hotel, the through- check will be left with the clerk, or the traveller himself if he should happen to be present when the baggage

88 BAGGAGE.

is called for. Under such conditions the traveller is relieved from all anxiety upon account of his baggage when he arrives at the railroad or other dep6t. He may take his seat and proceed on his journey. All that he will have to do will be to present his baggage check to the baggage master when he arrives at the point of destination.

If the traveller who goes to the express office, and who makes arrangements for the carrying of his baggage, should not happen to have his ticket with him, he may leave an order for the carriage of his baggage from his hotel or resi- dence to the railroad depot or steamboat wharf in this city. When his baggage is received and charges paid, he will re- ceive a claim-check corresponding in number to the check upon the article to be carried. In that case it is his duty to be at the depot sufficiently long before the starting-time to go to the baggage-master and exchange his city express claim-check for a check to carry his article to his destination. In that case also he must bear in mind that his baggage will not be checked through unless he produces his passage ticket.

There are two principal baggage express companies in Philadelphia, and in addition orders for expressing baggage w411 be taken at the railroad ticket offices (except dep&t offices) upon the purchase of a ticket at any of such offices. The general rule is the same at all offices as we have above described.

The Union Transfer Baggage Express office is at the S. E. corner of Ninth and Chestnut street, in the Continental Hotel. This office carries baggage to and from the city dep5ts, and gives through-checks, under the regulations above mentioned, to any city, town or station upon the line of the following railroads : Pennsylvania, Baltimore and Ohio, Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore, Eeading, Baltimore Central, Camden and Atlantic and West Chester, and upon all roads connected with them for stations on which tickets are sold.

Mann's North Pennsylvania Eailroad Express, S. W. cor- ner of Fifth and Chestnut streets, carries baggage to and from the North Pennsylvania Eailroad dep6t, and to anv other

SPECIAL TICKET OFFICES, ETC.

89

dep6t when ordered ; gives througli-checks, tickets being pre- viously bought, upon the North Pennsylvania, Lehigh Valley, New Jersey Central, and New York and Erie Railroads.

Tickets for the railroads named are sold at the baggage ex- press office. They are also sold at the various d6p6ts of the railroad companies and at special offices established by the railroad companies as follows :

SPECIAL TICKET OFFICES. Pennsylvania Railroad, S. E. corner Broad and Chestnut street, 116 Market street.

Reading, St. Elmo Hotel, 317 Arch, 624 Chestnut, 732

Chestnut.

Baltimore and Ohio, 700 Chestnut.

Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore, 700 Chestnut.

Camden and Atlantic (for Atlantic City), Broad and Chest- nut 4 Chelton avenue, Germantown.

West Jersey (for Cape May), Broad and Chestnut, 116 Market, 4 Chelton avenue, Germantown.

New York and Erie, 732 Chestnut.

North Pennsylvania, 732 Chestnut.

Lehigh Valley, 732 Chestnut.

RAILROAD PASSENGER DEPOTS. Pennsylvania, Market and Thirty-first, for Southern, West- ern and New York lines ; Broad street and connecting railroad junction for New York lines; Kensington d^pdt, Front and Berks, for Northern Pennsylvania, Northern New Jersey and New York lines ; Market street wharf, Delaware avenue, for East, West and North New Jersey, Cape May and New York

lines. ^ ,

Philadelphla,Wilmington and Baltimore, N.W. corner Broad

and Washington avenue, for Baltimore, Washington and the South and West.

Reading, N. W. corner of Thirteenth and CallowhiU, lor the North and West; N. E. corner Ninth and Green, for Ger- mantown, Norristown, etc. 8 *

90 RAILROAD DEPOTS— RAILROADS.

North Pennsylvania, corner of Berks and American streets, for the North and West.

West Chester, Chestnut and Thirty-first.

Camden and Atlantic, wharf, Vine street and Delaware avenue.

West Jersey (Cape May), Market street wharf.

RAILROADS. The Pennsylvania Railroad. The city of Philadelphia owes much of its progress in recent years to the rapid extension of this road, which, by its connections with all sections of the United States, presents facilities for rapid transit and commu- nication which are unequalled by any other city in the Union. The offices of the president and directors and chiefs of execu- tive departments of this road are in a very large marble build- ing situated at the south-east corner of Fourth street and Wil- ling's alley, below Walnut street, each department having its separate suite of offices, and managed with a most admirable system. The total number of miles of road operated and controlled by the Pennsylvania Eailroad is estimated at over two thousand, with one thousand locomotives, half as many first-class passenger cars, and over twenty-five thousand freight cars, used in transporting grain, cotton, petroleum and mer- chandise. The workshops of the company are located at Jersey City, Altoona, Johnstown and other points, and are very extensive and complete. The total assets of the com- pany have been placed as high as one hundred and eighty millions of dollars, and the creditable management of its finances has retained the values of its stock through all the depression of the past few years. The principal passenger dep8t of the road is located on Market street, in West Phila- delphia, across the Schuylkill. While nothing can be said in praise of the style of the depot itself, which is not very creditable to the road, yet the amount of travel in every direction occasions daily a busy scene well worthy the atten- tion of visitors. There are track accommodations here for over ten thousand freight cars, and there is but little time

KAILROADS. ^1

lost between the arriyal and departure of the numerous trains^ The principal freight d6p3ts occupy the block of ground bounded by Market, Filbert, Fifteenth and &xteenth streets and at Delaware ayenue and Dock street, extending to Water street and north to Walnut. Passenger d6p8ts at Market and Thirty-first streets, Kensington, Front and Berks streets, and Market street wharf, Delaware avenue.

The PennsyWauia Railroad was chartered on the ISt^^ »f ^P"'' 1S4B with power to build a railroad from Harnsburg to Pittsburg Tht rTute of travel and transportation between Philadelphia and PittsbuTwas, after the days of the Conestoga wagon, opened by failroad aid canal. In 1828 the Columbia and Portage railroads were authorized to be built, the intervening links of communication were a"*""™^ '^^^ Columbia Kailroad was projected to

SCrPhifaddpta, ^0 miles, to the town of Columbia, upon thfsusquehanna Eiver. From this place the east division of he Pennsylvania Canal extended 172 miles to Ho lidaysburg. At he fatter place the Portage Railroad, 36 miles in length, mounted the A ShanTes by a series of inclined planes, and descending on the west fermSated at Johnstown, from which there was canal navigation 104 mnrttpittsburg. Ap'ait of the Columbia ^-Iroadwa. opened in 1831. The whole hne was ready for use in 1834 Twelve years exnerience of this method of communication, and the belief that n^nering skill might build a railroad which could scale the Alle- shinies led to the project of the Pennsylvania Eailioad. It was fonsWed'with gre'at tapidity, and when opened soon l«oame a o-reat route of travel. The State works became unprofitalDle. Ac oulshions weve made of new links, until finally the whole of the irnnsvlvaria State line of railroad between Columbia and Phila- delphfa, as well as the canals west of Columbia, became the property of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company.

Philadelphia and Reading Railroad. The offices of this road are also located on Fourth street, at the north-east corner of WiUing's alley, immediately opposite those of the Pennsyl- vania Railroad. The magnificent building is of brown stone, and very thoroughly adapted for the use of the company in its various departments. The Reading Railroad ha« its special connections with the principal points in the coal region, and from there, and through its means, this gi-eat source of wealth is distributed to all sections of the United States. The com-

92 RAILROADS.

pany owns and controls over fourteen hundred miles of road, has over four hundred locomotives, over sixteen thousand coal cars, thirty-six hundred freight cars, and two hundred and twenty-five passenger cars. The passenger and freight depots of this road are located at Thirteenth and Callowhill streets and Ninth and Green streets. Coal d6p6ts at Port Richmond.

The improvement of the navigation of the river Schuylkill was a favorite subject of interest with the people of Philadelphia before the Revolution. Various schemes of slack-water and canal naviga- tion were discussed and abandoned. The Union Canal Company, chartered in 1811, was intended to extend by way of the Schuylkill River to Reading, and by practicable routes to the Susquehanna. The Schuylkill JSTavigation Company, chartered in 1814, was so far finished in 1818 as to allow the descent of boats. It was 108 miles in length, and extended to Port Carbon, in Schuylkill county. When the value of anthracite as a fuel became sufficiently acknow- ledged to allow the commencement of a trade in the article, the Schuylkill Navigation Company was found to have its terminus in the coal regions, and soon began to enjoy a very profitable trade. It may be said that from. 1830 to 1842 it had the monopoly of the coal business of the Schuylkill valley. The Reading Railroad Company was chartered on the 4th of April, 1833, to build a railroad from Philadelj)hia to Reading. There were many discouragements and difficulties, and it was eleven years after the charter was obtained before the railroad was finished from Pottsville to Philadelphia. On the 8th day of January, 1842, the road was opened. Seventy-five cars, with two thousand one hundred and fifty persons, music and banners, were drawn to the city by a single engine, while a train of fifty- two burden cars, with one hundred and eighty tons of coal, followed; and when they reached the city, a grand procession marched through the streets of Philadelphia. For some years the contest between the Reading Railroad Company and the Schuylkill Navigation Company was very earnest, but finally the locomotive won ; and by lease the Reading Railroad Company became possessed of the works of the Nav- igation Company, which are now operated in the interest of the former.

Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore Railroad. The

oflices of this road are located at the passenger and freight depot, on Broad street near Washington avenue. As it is the direct connecting link between New York and Washington, the travel over its line is very large. Length of track, one

RAILROADS.

93

hundred and ninety-two miles, with sixty-one daily trains, employing one hundred and fifteen passenger cars and twelve hundred and fifty freight cars.

This raih-oad company was formed of four companies incorporated in Pennsylvania, Delaware and Maryland in 1831 and 1832. Each of these companies laid out its line of travel in such a way as to connect with the others, hut each one managed its affairs m its own method, and proceeded to its work without consultation with the others The deo-rees of success in obtaining subscription and building the roads were not equal, and finally, in 1838, they were consohdated under the title now borne by the corporation. The through tracks were opened for use in 1838. The first passenger and freight depot in Philadelphia was built at the south-east corner of Eleventh and Market streets in 1842. The present depot at Broad and Washington avenue is 150 feet wide by 400 feet deep, and was completed and occupied in May, 1852.

North Pennsylvania Railroad. The office of the main de- partments of this company is in a large brownstone building on the north side of Walnut street above Fourth street, and is well adapted to its business. The passenger and freight d6p5t of this road is located at Berks and American streets, and is in direct communication with all parts of the city by means of street-cars. There is a large freight d6p6t at Front and Cal- lowhill streets. This road is a favorite line of travel for plea- sure-seekers, reaching, as it does, some of the most picturesque portions of the State. Length of road, 85 miles. There are

23 daily passenger trains, 47 locomotives, 48 passenger cars and over 1000 freight cars in use.

This company was originally chartered as the Philadelphia, Easton and Water Gap Railroad Company. Its name was changed to the North Pennsylvania Railroad Company April, 1853. The road was finished to Bethlehem and the Lehigh Valley in 1857.

Camden and Atlantic Railroad. Although this road is located in New Jersey, a very large proportion of its travel is via Philadelphia, the connection being by boat from foot of Vine street. Its principal terminus is Atlantic City, a bathing- place of much celebrity. The road is 67 miles in length, with

24 daily trains arriving and departing in the summer season, employing 55 passenger and 115 freight cars.

94 RAILROADS.

West Jersey Railroad. Main office in Camden, connecting by ferry-boat from Market street wharf. This road is also connected with a celebrated bathing-place known as Cape May, and during the summer term its entire capacity is put to the test.

The West Chester and Philadelphia Railroad has its office and dep5t at Chestnut and Thirty -first streets. It extends from the city through a finely-cultivated country in Delaware and Chester counties to West Chester, the capital of the latter. The length of the road is 26 miles. It has 9 engines, 20 pas- senger cars and 53 freight cars.

The Lehigh Valley Railroad. This company has no termi- nus in Philadelphia, but its main office of business has always been in this city, its projectors and original stockholders be- ing in large proportion Philadelphians. It occupies the large building at the south-west corner of Willing's alley and Third street, below Walnut street, which was originally built for and occupied for many years by the Pennsylvania Kail- road Company.

The Lehigh Valley Eailroad Company was originally incorporated under the name of the Delaware, Lehigh, Schuylkill and Susque- hanna Railroad Company. The name was changed January 7, 1853. The road was completed and put into operation in October, 1855. The office of the company was moved to Philadelphia in 1856.

CHAPTER V.

PUBLIC BUILDINGS IN USE BY THE CITY.

INDEPENDENCE SQUABE AND HALL AND ADJOINING

BUILDINGS.

WHAT is known as Independence Square is the block of gtound extending from the south side of Che^^^^^^ to the north side of Walnut street between Fifth and Six^h streets There are several buildings upon it, viz, the om tT^oL or Independence Hall, ^ --^^.^"t^e edifice in the ante-Eeyolutionary style of architecture, the wings east and west of the main building, which are occupied by courts and public offices ; the City Hal , south-west corne of Chestnut and Fifth streets, occupied by the mayor and other city officers; the county court-house building, ^''"th-east cor- neTof Sixth and Chestnut streets, occupied by courts and the Highway Department of the city; the Quarter Sessions court- holeadloinlig the latter on the east side of Sixth street and the haU of the^American Philosophical Society west side of Fifth street below Chestnut street, adjoining the City Hall which is occupied in the second story by the library and museum of that society, and in the lower story by courts and offices. The portion of Independence Square not occupied by these buildings is laid out as a public enclosure, and has many fine old trees upon it, some of which are ante-Eevolu- - tionary and believed to be portions of the original natural forest growth. INDEPENDENCE HALL, OR THE OLD STATE-HOUSE. Independence Hall is perhaps better known to the citizens of the United States than any other building withm the bor-

96

INDEPENDENCE HALL.

Independence HAiiL.

ders of Philadelphia. The events connected with our early history as a nation culminated in the declaration of our national independence by the Second Continental Congress, sitting in the east room, first floor. The hall is open to vis- itors from 9 A. M. to 3 P. M., and since its restoration presents much the same appearance as during the signing of the Decla- ration, the tables and chairs being the identical pieces of furniture used at that time. There will also be found in this room portraits of the signers, either original or faithful copies, in many instances donated by their descendants or secured by purchase, a fund for that purpose having been appropri- ated by the city. In the south tower of the building will be found the old Liberty Bell, the first to peal the song of Liberty to the New World. Admission will be granted by the super- intendent to the steeple, from which an extended view may be had of the city and the rivers Delaware and Schuylkill.

NATIONAL MUSEUM INDEPENDENCE HALL. 97

THE NATIONAL MUSEUM. The western room on the first floor, formerly the Judicial Hall of the colony of Pennsylvania, and afterward used by city and county courts, has been arranged as a National Museum ; and although but recently completed, it contains an interesting collection of relics connected with our early Colo- nial and Eevolutionary history. Among the most important of these relics is the original charter of the city of Philadelphia, with Penn's signature and the great seal of the State, also West's painting of the treaty with the Indians, and portraits of King William, Queens Mary and Anne, and Kings George I., II. and III., with whom terminated the royal authority in this country. A very curious and valuable collection of one hundred and thirty-four portraits, taken from life, and beau- tifully executed by Sharpless, an Englishman, attract much attention. They were painted between 1790 and 1800, and include Washington and Mrs. Washington, John Adams, Jef- ferson, Mr. Madison and many others of distinction. There will also be found here autograph letters, curious old furni- ture, china ware, newspapers, magazines, books, clothing, etc., illustrating the Colonial and Eevolutionary period. The National Museum is open to visitors without charge from 9 A. M. to 12 P. M, In front of the building, on Chestnut street, is a marble statue of Washington by J. A. Bailly, erected by pupils of the public schools of Philadelphia. The second story of the hall is used at the present time for the meetings of the Select and Common Councils.

The venerable building known to our fathers as the State-house has of late years been called Independence Hall, from the fact that in that building, on the second of July, 1776, the Second Continental Congress adopted the resolution of Richard Henry Lee of Virginia, " that these united colonies are, and of right ought to be, free and in- dependent States ; and that all political connection between us and the state of Great Britain is, and ought to be, totally dissolved." This resolution had been introduced by Mr. Lee on the seventh of June, and a committee appointed to consider it and the terms of a declara- tion to that effect. It consisted of Thomas Jefferson of Virginia, John 9 G

INDEPENDENCE HALL.

98

Adams of Massachusetts, Beujamin Franklin of Pennsylvania Roger Sherman of Connecticut and Robert R Lvytngston of N » ^^-^^